EXAM COMPLETE QUESTIONS AND DETAILED
ANSWERS|ALREADY GRADED
A "viewing LUT" switches the way your Composer window maps the
color information in the image. Correct Answers True
A file format known as Digital Picture Exchange is often used to
exchange film/video from one application to another. They are typically
a collection of numbered files (i.e. an Image Sequence). What is the
abbreviation for this type of file? Correct Answers DPX
An editor has started transcoding hours of footage using Background
Services. When they need to leave their workstation at the end of the
day, the transcoding is still not finished. What will happen to the
transcoding process if they exit Media Composer? Correct Answers It
depends on how the editor configured the settings in the Background
Services window
AS-11 is superior to Quicktime as a final file for broadcast television for
which of the following reasons? Choose all that apply. Correct Answers
Instructions and metadata are embedded in the file.
It provides one file, which has the program blocks internally delimited.
It was developed by the Advanced Media Workflow Association to
standardize broadcast workflow in the digital age.
,Before you can import captions into your edit, you first must set a
template for how the captions will look. Which button in the Effect
Editor is used to do this? Correct Answers Text Appearance
Bin Layouts are a [FILL in the BLANK] setting, while Bin Views are a
[FILL IN THE BLANK] setting. Correct Answers Project User
Bin Layouts are which type of Setting? Correct Answers Project Setting
EBU N19 is the only format Avid can use to export caption data. Correct
Answers False
Getting a good key starts with production and lighting. For best results:
Correct Answers The background (greenscreen) lit uniformly and
pressed flat.
How are Project Settings different from User Settings? Correct Answers
Project Settings are unique to each project that is created.
How can you add the same description to multiple clips in a bin? Correct
Answers Select the clips, right-click in the Description column, and
choose Set Description column for Selected Clips
How can you cycle your selection of different shapes? Correct Answers
Click the Go to Next/Previous Event buttons
,Press the Go to Next/Previous Trim keys
How can you disable the Auto Stabilize feature to perform a manual
Stabilize? Correct Answers Alt-drag (Windows) or Option-drag (Mac)
the Stabilize effect to the segment
How can you find the Project settings file? Correct Answers Select the
Settings window and choose File > Open Setting File
How can you get information about the status of jobs that are being
processed by Background Services? Correct Answers Tools >
Background Queue
How can you move an existing mark in the script? Correct Answers
Ctrl-drag (Windows) or Command-drag (Mac) the script mark
How can you open your user settings file in Media Composer? Correct
Answers With the Settings window active, go to File > Open Setting
File and navigate to the location on your system
How can you quickly standardize all your Timeline tracks to be the same
height as your tallest track? Correct Answers Select all tracks + Ctrl + L
(Windows) or Command + Control + L (Mac)
, How can you quickly standardize all your Timeline tracks to be the same
height as your tallest track? Correct Answers Select all tracks + Ctrl + L
(Windows) or Command + Control + L (Mac)
How do you "live slip" a shot? Correct Answers Use the trim keys M , . /
on a segment while in Edit Mode
How do you add CDL data to clips in the bin? Correct Answers Import
an ALE
How do you apply a RED grade to RED clips? Correct Answers Source
Settings > Linked Plug-in
How do you break the Bézier handles so they are independent? Correct
Answers Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac) the handle and drag
it
How do you bring one shape to the top of the stack with one click?
Correct Answers Alt-click (Windows) or Opt-click (Mac) the Bring
Forward button
How do you change a reshape handle from being a "Corner Point" into a
"Bézier Curve?" Correct Answers Opt/Alt + Click
How do you create placeholders for the SubCap effect in the Timeline?
Correct Answers Place the effect on the required video track, then cut