Tableau Desktop Specialist - Questions & Solutions
(Rated A+)
What are two methods for renaming a field in a visualization? (Choose two.)
A. From the Data pane, use the field's drop-down menu and select Rename.
B. From the Data pane, right-click the field and select Replace References.
C. From the Data pane, click and hold on the field until the name is editable.
D. From the Format menu, select Field Labels. Right Ans - A: use the field's
drop-down menu and select Rename.
C: click and hold on the field until the name is editable.
Which statement accurately describes aliases?
A. You can assign an alias to a field member before creating a visualization.
B. When you assign an alias, the name changes in the database.
C. You can create an alias for a discrete measure.
D. You can create an alias for a continuous dimension. Right Ans - A. You
can assign an alias to a field member before creating a visualization.
You need to invert the color intensity of a quantitative range.Which option
should you use?
A. Border
B. Reversed
C. Opacity
D. Stepped Color Right Ans - B. Reversed
You need to display the complete list of potential data connections when you
connect to a server.What action should you perform?
A. Select Connecting to Data.
B. Select More under To a File.
C. Select More under To a Server.
D. Select File on the menu, and then select New. Right Ans - C. Select More
under To a Server.
When creating a data source, how can you add additional connections to
different databases?
A. From the drop-down menu of the current connection, select Edit
Connection.
B. From the Connections pane, select Add.
,C. From the Data menu, select New Data Source.
D. From the File menu, select New. Right Ans - B. From the Connections
pane, select Add.
What are two characteristics of relationships? (Choose two.)
A. Relationships will query every table in a data model regardless of whether
the fields are in the visualization.
B. Relationships will query only the tables and fields needed to create a
visualization.
C. Relationships are only supported when using extracts.
D. Relationships are aware automatically of the native level of detail of logical
tables. Right Ans - B. Relationships will query only the tables and fields
needed to create a visualization.
D. Relationships are aware automatically of the native level of detail of logical
tables.
What are two examples of a date value? (Choose two.)
A. January 1, 1995
B. December
C. Wednesday
D. 2020-05-01 Right Ans - A. January 1, 1995
D. 2020-05-01
What are three reasons to use joins instead of relationships? (Choose three.)
A. You need to use a specific join type.
B. You need to create an extract that will have multiple tables.
C. You need to use row-level security.
D. You need to use a data model that supports shared dimensions.
E. You need to connect to multiple databases. Right Ans - A. You need to use
a specific join type.
C. You need to use row-level security.
E. You need to connect to multiple databases.
What are three benefits of using an extract as compared to a live connection to
a data source? (Choose three.)
A. A live connection to a data source provides the best performance for data
connections.
B. Calculated fields perform better in workbooks connected to extracts than in
workbooks with live connections to a data source.
, C. Extracts are stored in memory (RAM), resulting in faster query
performance as compared with live data connections.
D. An extract reduces the amount of data stored on a client computer as
compared to a live data connection.
E. A live connection to a data source can be slow due to network and user
traffic, whereas a connection to an extract improves performance. Right
Ans - B. Calculated fields perform better in workbooks connected to extracts
than in workbooks with live connections to a data source.
C. Extracts are stored in memory (RAM), resulting in faster query
performance as compared with live data connections.
E. A live connection to a data source can be slow due to network and user
traffic, whereas a connection to an extract improves performance.
How can you access options to apply bold formatting to an axis in the view?
A. Select Text on the Marks card.
B. Select Field Labels on the Format menu.
C. Right-click on the Field and select Format.
D. Right-click on the axis. Right Ans - D. Right-click on the axis.
With the Marks card drop-down menu set to Automatic, a line chart will be
created whenever you place what on the Rows shelf and the Columns shelf?
A. Measures on one shelf, and a date dimension on the other
B. Zero or more dimensions on one shelf, and 2 or more measures on the
other
C. Zero or more measures on one shelf, and 2 or more dimensions on the other
D. A date dimension followed by a continuous measure on one shelf Right
Ans - A. Measures on one shelf, and a date dimension on the other
When should you use a relationship instead of a join for two data sets?
A. To use both data sets across multiple sheets in a visualization.
B. The data sets are in two separate tables within a single spreadsheet.
C. The data sets include similar data aggregated at different levels of detail.
D. The data sets include similar data aggregated up to the highest level.
Right Ans - C. The data sets include similar data aggregated at different levels
of detail.
What is created by a calculated field that has a formula of SUM(Sales) /
SUM(Profit)?
A. A measure
(Rated A+)
What are two methods for renaming a field in a visualization? (Choose two.)
A. From the Data pane, use the field's drop-down menu and select Rename.
B. From the Data pane, right-click the field and select Replace References.
C. From the Data pane, click and hold on the field until the name is editable.
D. From the Format menu, select Field Labels. Right Ans - A: use the field's
drop-down menu and select Rename.
C: click and hold on the field until the name is editable.
Which statement accurately describes aliases?
A. You can assign an alias to a field member before creating a visualization.
B. When you assign an alias, the name changes in the database.
C. You can create an alias for a discrete measure.
D. You can create an alias for a continuous dimension. Right Ans - A. You
can assign an alias to a field member before creating a visualization.
You need to invert the color intensity of a quantitative range.Which option
should you use?
A. Border
B. Reversed
C. Opacity
D. Stepped Color Right Ans - B. Reversed
You need to display the complete list of potential data connections when you
connect to a server.What action should you perform?
A. Select Connecting to Data.
B. Select More under To a File.
C. Select More under To a Server.
D. Select File on the menu, and then select New. Right Ans - C. Select More
under To a Server.
When creating a data source, how can you add additional connections to
different databases?
A. From the drop-down menu of the current connection, select Edit
Connection.
B. From the Connections pane, select Add.
,C. From the Data menu, select New Data Source.
D. From the File menu, select New. Right Ans - B. From the Connections
pane, select Add.
What are two characteristics of relationships? (Choose two.)
A. Relationships will query every table in a data model regardless of whether
the fields are in the visualization.
B. Relationships will query only the tables and fields needed to create a
visualization.
C. Relationships are only supported when using extracts.
D. Relationships are aware automatically of the native level of detail of logical
tables. Right Ans - B. Relationships will query only the tables and fields
needed to create a visualization.
D. Relationships are aware automatically of the native level of detail of logical
tables.
What are two examples of a date value? (Choose two.)
A. January 1, 1995
B. December
C. Wednesday
D. 2020-05-01 Right Ans - A. January 1, 1995
D. 2020-05-01
What are three reasons to use joins instead of relationships? (Choose three.)
A. You need to use a specific join type.
B. You need to create an extract that will have multiple tables.
C. You need to use row-level security.
D. You need to use a data model that supports shared dimensions.
E. You need to connect to multiple databases. Right Ans - A. You need to use
a specific join type.
C. You need to use row-level security.
E. You need to connect to multiple databases.
What are three benefits of using an extract as compared to a live connection to
a data source? (Choose three.)
A. A live connection to a data source provides the best performance for data
connections.
B. Calculated fields perform better in workbooks connected to extracts than in
workbooks with live connections to a data source.
, C. Extracts are stored in memory (RAM), resulting in faster query
performance as compared with live data connections.
D. An extract reduces the amount of data stored on a client computer as
compared to a live data connection.
E. A live connection to a data source can be slow due to network and user
traffic, whereas a connection to an extract improves performance. Right
Ans - B. Calculated fields perform better in workbooks connected to extracts
than in workbooks with live connections to a data source.
C. Extracts are stored in memory (RAM), resulting in faster query
performance as compared with live data connections.
E. A live connection to a data source can be slow due to network and user
traffic, whereas a connection to an extract improves performance.
How can you access options to apply bold formatting to an axis in the view?
A. Select Text on the Marks card.
B. Select Field Labels on the Format menu.
C. Right-click on the Field and select Format.
D. Right-click on the axis. Right Ans - D. Right-click on the axis.
With the Marks card drop-down menu set to Automatic, a line chart will be
created whenever you place what on the Rows shelf and the Columns shelf?
A. Measures on one shelf, and a date dimension on the other
B. Zero or more dimensions on one shelf, and 2 or more measures on the
other
C. Zero or more measures on one shelf, and 2 or more dimensions on the other
D. A date dimension followed by a continuous measure on one shelf Right
Ans - A. Measures on one shelf, and a date dimension on the other
When should you use a relationship instead of a join for two data sets?
A. To use both data sets across multiple sheets in a visualization.
B. The data sets are in two separate tables within a single spreadsheet.
C. The data sets include similar data aggregated at different levels of detail.
D. The data sets include similar data aggregated up to the highest level.
Right Ans - C. The data sets include similar data aggregated at different levels
of detail.
What is created by a calculated field that has a formula of SUM(Sales) /
SUM(Profit)?
A. A measure