Wall Street Prep: Excel Crash Course
Keyboard Versus the Mouse
Almost the entirety that can be executed in Excel the use of a mouse also can be finished
the usage of the keyboard shortcuts
Best way to learn is to disconnect the mouse and paintings via Excel the usage of simplest
the keyboard
Name Box
Tells you what mobile you are in (pinnacle left beneath the ribbon)
Previous
Play
Next
Rewind 10 seconds
Move forward 10 seconds
Unmute
zero:02
/
zero:15
Full display screen
Brainpower
Read More
Formula Bar
When you insert a method right into a cell and hit go back, the cell will show you the output
The method bar, but, will display you the method
Next to "fx" proper underneath the ribbon
Worksheets
An Excel file is referred to as a workbook;
You start with 1 worksheet but you can add/delete greater
The lively worksheet is highlighted in Excel
Moving Between Worksheets
Ctrl + PageDown/PageUp
(Option + RightArrow/LeftArrow)
Adding Worksheets
,(Fn Shift F11)
Columns
Alphabetically labeled (A, B, C, etc.)
Rows
Numerically classified (1, 2, 3, and so on.)
Main tabs
Although we attention on shortcuts, definitely all commands, functions, and Excel capabilities
may be accessed through the challenge-oriented tabs which prepare them into nine logical
categories:
(1) Home
(2) Insert
(three) Draw
(4) Page Layout
(five) Formulas
(6) Data
(7) Review
(8) View
(nine) Developer
How to Access Ribbon on Mac
Ctrl Fn F2
Use arrow keys to peruse the Mac ribbon
Mac Settings to Disable
(1) Function Keys: Settings - Keyboard - Use F1, F2, and many others. Keys as preferred
function keys
(2) Mission Control: System Preferences - Keyboard - Shortcuts - Mission Control - Disable
"Move a area left" and "Move a space right" to use Ctrl RightArrow or Ctrl LeftArrow
Using Function Keys
Hit Fn after which the function key to apply the function keys themselves on a Mac
Open a New Workout
Ctrl N
Cmnd N
The File Tab
,Many Excel functions (Open document, Save document, Print file, and so on.) are positioned
on this tab
Excel also has alternative keyboard shortcuts (using Ctrl) for a lot of these capabilities
Open a File: Ctrl O (Cmnd O)
Save a File: Ctrl S (Cmnd S)
Print a File: Ctrl P (Cmnd P)
Save a File
Ctrl S
Cmnd S
Print a File
Ctrl P
Cmnd P
Open a File
Ctrl O
Cmnd O
Toolbars
Within every of the main tabs you'll discover all of Excel's capabilities, grouped with the aid
of instructions
Navigating to the Toolbars Without the Mouse
Hit Alt and the best letter (or use the proper/left arrow keys) to get to the favored tab
Once there, use the Tab and Shift Tab keys to navigate around, the Space to open a drop
down, and Enter to pick out
Bold Command
Ctrl B
Cmnd B
The Home Tab
Includes maximum formatting residences:
Font kind, length, and color
Background shade
Text/cell alignment
Changing currency, decimal, percentage codecs
Inserting, deleting, and hiding rows and columns
Adjusting columns and rows width
Inserting, deleting, and renaming worksheets
, The Insert Tab
Important Features: Pivot Table, Charts, Header & Footer
Page Layout Tab
Important Features: Print Area, Fonts, Gridlines
Formulas Tab
Important Features: Insert Function, Function Library, Name Manager, Formula Auditing
Tools (Trace Precedents, Trace Dependents)
Data Tab
Important Features: Filter, Sort, Text to Columns, Flash Fill, Data Validation, Data Tables
(Goal Seek), Group/Ungroup
Review Tab
Important Features: New Comment
View Tab
Important Features: Zoom, Gridlines
Developer Tab
Important Features: Record Macro, Add-Ins
Accessing Settings (Excel Options)
File > Options (Alt F T or Alt T O)
MAC: Excel > Preferences
Excel Settings Changes
General:
Change "Sheets in New Workbook" to a few
Uncheck "Show Workbook Gallery whilst opening Excel"
Calculation/Functions:
Change Calculation Options to "Automatic except for records tables"
Check "Enable iterative calculation"
Edit/Advanced:
Uncheck "After pressing Enter, move selection"
Keyboard Versus the Mouse
Almost the entirety that can be executed in Excel the use of a mouse also can be finished
the usage of the keyboard shortcuts
Best way to learn is to disconnect the mouse and paintings via Excel the usage of simplest
the keyboard
Name Box
Tells you what mobile you are in (pinnacle left beneath the ribbon)
Previous
Play
Next
Rewind 10 seconds
Move forward 10 seconds
Unmute
zero:02
/
zero:15
Full display screen
Brainpower
Read More
Formula Bar
When you insert a method right into a cell and hit go back, the cell will show you the output
The method bar, but, will display you the method
Next to "fx" proper underneath the ribbon
Worksheets
An Excel file is referred to as a workbook;
You start with 1 worksheet but you can add/delete greater
The lively worksheet is highlighted in Excel
Moving Between Worksheets
Ctrl + PageDown/PageUp
(Option + RightArrow/LeftArrow)
Adding Worksheets
,(Fn Shift F11)
Columns
Alphabetically labeled (A, B, C, etc.)
Rows
Numerically classified (1, 2, 3, and so on.)
Main tabs
Although we attention on shortcuts, definitely all commands, functions, and Excel capabilities
may be accessed through the challenge-oriented tabs which prepare them into nine logical
categories:
(1) Home
(2) Insert
(three) Draw
(4) Page Layout
(five) Formulas
(6) Data
(7) Review
(8) View
(nine) Developer
How to Access Ribbon on Mac
Ctrl Fn F2
Use arrow keys to peruse the Mac ribbon
Mac Settings to Disable
(1) Function Keys: Settings - Keyboard - Use F1, F2, and many others. Keys as preferred
function keys
(2) Mission Control: System Preferences - Keyboard - Shortcuts - Mission Control - Disable
"Move a area left" and "Move a space right" to use Ctrl RightArrow or Ctrl LeftArrow
Using Function Keys
Hit Fn after which the function key to apply the function keys themselves on a Mac
Open a New Workout
Ctrl N
Cmnd N
The File Tab
,Many Excel functions (Open document, Save document, Print file, and so on.) are positioned
on this tab
Excel also has alternative keyboard shortcuts (using Ctrl) for a lot of these capabilities
Open a File: Ctrl O (Cmnd O)
Save a File: Ctrl S (Cmnd S)
Print a File: Ctrl P (Cmnd P)
Save a File
Ctrl S
Cmnd S
Print a File
Ctrl P
Cmnd P
Open a File
Ctrl O
Cmnd O
Toolbars
Within every of the main tabs you'll discover all of Excel's capabilities, grouped with the aid
of instructions
Navigating to the Toolbars Without the Mouse
Hit Alt and the best letter (or use the proper/left arrow keys) to get to the favored tab
Once there, use the Tab and Shift Tab keys to navigate around, the Space to open a drop
down, and Enter to pick out
Bold Command
Ctrl B
Cmnd B
The Home Tab
Includes maximum formatting residences:
Font kind, length, and color
Background shade
Text/cell alignment
Changing currency, decimal, percentage codecs
Inserting, deleting, and hiding rows and columns
Adjusting columns and rows width
Inserting, deleting, and renaming worksheets
, The Insert Tab
Important Features: Pivot Table, Charts, Header & Footer
Page Layout Tab
Important Features: Print Area, Fonts, Gridlines
Formulas Tab
Important Features: Insert Function, Function Library, Name Manager, Formula Auditing
Tools (Trace Precedents, Trace Dependents)
Data Tab
Important Features: Filter, Sort, Text to Columns, Flash Fill, Data Validation, Data Tables
(Goal Seek), Group/Ungroup
Review Tab
Important Features: New Comment
View Tab
Important Features: Zoom, Gridlines
Developer Tab
Important Features: Record Macro, Add-Ins
Accessing Settings (Excel Options)
File > Options (Alt F T or Alt T O)
MAC: Excel > Preferences
Excel Settings Changes
General:
Change "Sheets in New Workbook" to a few
Uncheck "Show Workbook Gallery whilst opening Excel"
Calculation/Functions:
Change Calculation Options to "Automatic except for records tables"
Check "Enable iterative calculation"
Edit/Advanced:
Uncheck "After pressing Enter, move selection"