• Wrong document? Swap it for free
  • Written by students who passed
  • Immediately available after payment
  • Read online or as PDF
Sell
Where do you study
Your language
Document preview thumbnail
Preview 4 out of 32 pages
Exam (elaborations)

CSAF Exam Questions with Verified Correct Answers

Document preview thumbnail
Preview 4 out of 32 pages

CSAF Exam Questions with Verified Correct Answers

Content preview

CSAF Exam Questions with Verified Correct
Answers
Why is Cost Accounting Important?

Because reimbursement is predetermined, management must focus primarily on finding way

to manage costs, so cost accounting is critical. Cost information is useful to a variety of key

decision-makers in a healthcare organization.

Incremental or Marginal Cost

This is when costing decisions are being made with the understanding that there is a

difference in cost at two different activity or volume levels.

Contribution Margin

This is the difference between marginal revenue and marginal cost. The contribution margin

equals the revenue received for one unit of service less the marginal expenses incurred for

one unit of service. The contribution margin is the amount of revenues remaining after

meeting marginal costs; this remaining margin goes toward supporting fixed costs. Whatever

is left goes to profit.

Break-Even Point (BEP)

Break-even point is the level of sales volume of a certain product (or service) producing the

exact amount of contribution margin needed to cover fixed costs.

Break-Even Equation

BE= Fixed Cost/ Contribution margin per unit

Break-Even Point Calculation Example

,Revenue: $100,000. Volume: 10,000. Revenue per Unit: $10.

Less: Variable Cost: $50,000. Volume: 10,000. Variable Cost per Unit: $5.

Contribution Margin: $50,000. Volume: 10,000. Contribution Margin per Unit: $5.

Less: Fixed Cost: $40,000. Volume: 10,000. Fixed Cost per Unit: $4.

Net Profit: $10,000. Volume: 10,000. Net Profit per Unit: $1.

Break-Even Point Calculation per Volumes of Unit Example

Revenue: $100,000. Volume: 10,000. Revenue per Unit: $10.

Less: Variable Cost: $50,000. Volume: 10,000. Variable Cost per Unit: $5.

Contribution Margin: $50,000. Volume: 10,000. Contribution Margin per Unit: $5.

Less: Fixed Cost: $40,000. Volume: 10,000. Fixed Cost per Unit: $4.

Net Profit: $10,000. Volume: 10,000. Net Profit per Unit: $1.

BEP = $40,000 (total fixed costs) / $5 (contribution margin per unit)

BEP = 8,000 units.

Full Absorption Costing

Full absorption costing attempts to allocate all overhead costs to all activities supported by

those costs. Overhead, or indirect costs, are allocated down to the revenue-producing

activities based on an objective methodology.

Differential Costing

Differential costing ignores the overhead costs and only looks at incremental costs that are

directly related to the product.

Decision-Making Example

The decision to use full absorption costing or differential cost is made based on how the

information will be used. For example, when management is assessing the profitability of all

,hospital programs relative to one another, then it may be appropriate to consider departmental

costs on a full absorption basis. This may be an effective way to identify marginally

performing departments for further action.

If, however, the analysis was conducted to price a contract that would bring incremental

volume, but would require no additional investment of equipment or indirect labor, then it

would be appropriate to consider only marginal direct (differential) costs.

Direct Costs

These may be fixed or variable, but they are clearly and directly associated with the activity

that is being costed. Direct costs include direct salaries and supplies.

Indirect Costs

These may be fixed or variable, but they are NOT clearly nor directly associated with the

activity being costed. Overhead is a common term for indirect costs. These costs are assigned

to a service using some acceptable allocation method. An example would include

administration provided in a hospital setting.

Activity-Based Costing (ABC)

A method of determining product costs using cost drivers or activity measures that cause

indirect costs to be incurred. Ideal cost drivers are activities that pertain to each procedure in

varying amounts. ABC provides an overview of developing and analyzing cost information

by service line.

Activity-based costing is generally considered a more accurate costing method than the

proportionate allocation method. It is, however, often more expensive to determine due to the

necessary data collection. ABC provides the foundation for clinical improvement efforts by a

more accurate identification of payment risk.

, Activity-Based Costing (ABC) Example

An example of ABC would be using the level of a specific equipment use to determine the

allocation of depreciation and repair expense.

Activity-Based and Service-Line Costing (ABC) Example

For example, the resources consumed by a cardiac patient in an imaging department are

considerably more than the resources consumed by a patient with pneumonia.

Activity-Based and Service-Line Costing

Healthcare organizations have developed service lines based on major diagnostic categories

(for example, diseases of the digestive system or obstetric procedures).

The advantage of analyzing results by diagnostic category is that it develops an estimate of

total resources consumed, including resources consumed in shared departments.

Service-Line Costing (Profitability Analysis)

There are several objectives of analyzing profitability according to service lines.

Shift financial analysis toward the major lines.

Determine the advantages or disadvantages of being in that product line.

Emphasize or de-emphasize certain services.

Determine data for use in benchmarking among clinical specialties.

Service-line costing can also be useful in assessing the profitability of a proposed managed

care contract and in developing carve-out rates for specific types of cases (for example, open-

heart surgeries and bone marrow transplants).

Responsibility Accounting

The assignment or allocation of cost to the individual manager who is primarily responsible

for making decisions about those costs. Once the primary responsibility for incurring a

Document information

Uploaded on
September 2, 2026
Number of pages
32
Written in
2026/2027
Type
Exam (elaborations)
Contains
Questions & answers
$15.99

Wrong document? Swap it for free Within 14 days of purchase and before downloading, you can choose a different document. You can simply spend the amount again.
Written by students who passed
Immediately available after payment
Read online or as PDF

Seller avatar
Reputation scores are based on the amount of documents a seller has sold for a fee and the reviews they have received for those documents. There are three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. The better the reputation, the more your can rely on the quality of the sellers work.
KenAli
2.6
(18)
Sold
114
Followers
5
Items
24574
Last sold
1 week ago



Why students choose Stuvia

Created by fellow students, verified by reviews

Quality you can trust: written by students who passed their tests and reviewed by others who've used these notes.

Didn't get what you expected? Choose another document

No worries! You can instantly pick a different document that better fits what you're looking for.

Pay as you like, start learning right away

No subscription, no commitments. Pay the way you're used to via credit card and download your PDF document instantly.

Student with book image

“Bought, downloaded, and aced it. It really can be that simple.”

Alisha Student

Working on your references?

Create accurate citations in APA, MLA and Harvard with our free citation generator.

Working on your references?

Frequently asked questions