TEXAS JURISPRUDENCE EXAM
STUDY GUIDE
Minimum-score-to-pass?---ans-✔✔75%
viable-answers-if-given-the-choice?---ans-✔✔"all-of-the-above"-
"which-of-the-following-is-not"
Texas-Occupations-&-Administrative-Codes-that-involve-time-periods-answers-are-
usually?---ans-✔✔when-in-doubt,-choose-30
How-much-time-to-report-child-abuse/neglect?---ans-✔✔48-hours
Issuing-a-birth-certificate-you-have-how-much-time?---ans-✔✔5-days
using-a-death-certificate-you-have-how-much-time?---ans-✔✔10-days
How-much-time-do-you-have-to-report-most-communicable-diseases?---ans-✔✔7-days
How-much-time-do-you-have-to-report-tuberculosis-and-pertussis?---ans-✔✔1-day
how-much-time-to-supply-medical-records---ans-✔✔15-days
What-does-TMB-stand-for?---ans-✔✔Texas-Medical-Board
TMB-composes-of-how-many-people?---ans-✔✔19
How-many-physicians-in-TMB---ans-✔✔12
How-many-laypersons-on-the-TMB---ans-✔✔7
TMB-are-appointed-by-the-Governor-for-how-long?---ans-✔✔6-year-terms
What-else-does-the-TMB-have-authority-over?---ans-✔✔granting-licensure-and-taking-
them-away-(disciplinary-actions)
What-does-MPA-stand-for?---ans-✔✔Texas-Medical-Practice-Act
, all-doctors-must-adhere-to-what-when-practicing-medicine-in-Texas?---ans-✔✔MPA
Laws-covered-by-MPA-ONLY-apply-to?---ans-✔✔Texas-licensed-physicians-while-
practicing-in-Texas
ALSO--non-instant-physicians-providing-services-to-patience-in-Texas.
Who-does-the-MPA-NOT-apply-to?---ans-✔✔other-healthcare-providers-like:-nurses,-
medical-students-and-other-doctors-which-include-dentist,-podiatrists,-optometrists
Non-compensated-emergency-care-does-not-apply-to?---ans-✔✔MPA
What-are-the-Texas-Medical-Licensure-requirements?-#1---ans-✔✔complete-college-(60-
credit-hours)
What-are-the-Texas-Medical-Licensure-requirements?-#2---ans-✔✔MD-or-DO
What-are-the-Texas-Medical-Licensure-requirements?-#3---ans-✔✔pass-USMLE-steps-1-
3-(within-7-years)-an-Texas-JP-exam
What-are-the-Texas-Medical-Licensure-requirements?-#4---ans-✔✔complete-your-intern-
(PGYL)-year
Texas-Medical-License-states-that...---ans-✔✔Any-US--trained-grad-finished-with-the-step-
exam-can-apply-for-their-full-Texas-Medical-Licensure-after-completing-their-internship
corollary-#1-for-Texas-medical-licensure-states-that...---ans-✔✔if-you-quit-your-residency-
after-internship,-you-can-still-practice-as-a-fully-licensed-physician-in-Texas-(-but-not-
certified-in-specialty)
Corollary-#2-for-Texas-Medical-Licensure-states-that..---ans-✔✔Naturopathic-doctors,-
podiatrists,-optometrist,-chiropractors,-dentist,-and-any-other-doctors-are-thus-not-
licensed-as-physicians-by-the-TMB
If-you-quit-your-residency-what-can-you-still-do-in-the-state-of-Texas?---ans-✔✔practice-as-
a-fully-licensed-physician-but-without-a-certification-or-specialty.
Who's-not-licensed-by-the-TMB-as-physicians-in-Texas?---ans-✔✔Naturopathic-doctors,-
podiatrists,-optometrist,-chiropractors,-dentist,-and-any-other-doctors-(they-have-their-
own-governing-bodies-and-rules)
How-often-do-you-have-renew-your-license?---ans-✔✔every-2-years-(after-initial-license-
period)
*-which-means-you-have-between-12-24-months-to-renew-license-without-being-fined
Will-you-receive-a-fine-if-your-license-is-expired-less-than-30-days?---ans-✔✔No
STUDY GUIDE
Minimum-score-to-pass?---ans-✔✔75%
viable-answers-if-given-the-choice?---ans-✔✔"all-of-the-above"-
"which-of-the-following-is-not"
Texas-Occupations-&-Administrative-Codes-that-involve-time-periods-answers-are-
usually?---ans-✔✔when-in-doubt,-choose-30
How-much-time-to-report-child-abuse/neglect?---ans-✔✔48-hours
Issuing-a-birth-certificate-you-have-how-much-time?---ans-✔✔5-days
using-a-death-certificate-you-have-how-much-time?---ans-✔✔10-days
How-much-time-do-you-have-to-report-most-communicable-diseases?---ans-✔✔7-days
How-much-time-do-you-have-to-report-tuberculosis-and-pertussis?---ans-✔✔1-day
how-much-time-to-supply-medical-records---ans-✔✔15-days
What-does-TMB-stand-for?---ans-✔✔Texas-Medical-Board
TMB-composes-of-how-many-people?---ans-✔✔19
How-many-physicians-in-TMB---ans-✔✔12
How-many-laypersons-on-the-TMB---ans-✔✔7
TMB-are-appointed-by-the-Governor-for-how-long?---ans-✔✔6-year-terms
What-else-does-the-TMB-have-authority-over?---ans-✔✔granting-licensure-and-taking-
them-away-(disciplinary-actions)
What-does-MPA-stand-for?---ans-✔✔Texas-Medical-Practice-Act
, all-doctors-must-adhere-to-what-when-practicing-medicine-in-Texas?---ans-✔✔MPA
Laws-covered-by-MPA-ONLY-apply-to?---ans-✔✔Texas-licensed-physicians-while-
practicing-in-Texas
ALSO--non-instant-physicians-providing-services-to-patience-in-Texas.
Who-does-the-MPA-NOT-apply-to?---ans-✔✔other-healthcare-providers-like:-nurses,-
medical-students-and-other-doctors-which-include-dentist,-podiatrists,-optometrists
Non-compensated-emergency-care-does-not-apply-to?---ans-✔✔MPA
What-are-the-Texas-Medical-Licensure-requirements?-#1---ans-✔✔complete-college-(60-
credit-hours)
What-are-the-Texas-Medical-Licensure-requirements?-#2---ans-✔✔MD-or-DO
What-are-the-Texas-Medical-Licensure-requirements?-#3---ans-✔✔pass-USMLE-steps-1-
3-(within-7-years)-an-Texas-JP-exam
What-are-the-Texas-Medical-Licensure-requirements?-#4---ans-✔✔complete-your-intern-
(PGYL)-year
Texas-Medical-License-states-that...---ans-✔✔Any-US--trained-grad-finished-with-the-step-
exam-can-apply-for-their-full-Texas-Medical-Licensure-after-completing-their-internship
corollary-#1-for-Texas-medical-licensure-states-that...---ans-✔✔if-you-quit-your-residency-
after-internship,-you-can-still-practice-as-a-fully-licensed-physician-in-Texas-(-but-not-
certified-in-specialty)
Corollary-#2-for-Texas-Medical-Licensure-states-that..---ans-✔✔Naturopathic-doctors,-
podiatrists,-optometrist,-chiropractors,-dentist,-and-any-other-doctors-are-thus-not-
licensed-as-physicians-by-the-TMB
If-you-quit-your-residency-what-can-you-still-do-in-the-state-of-Texas?---ans-✔✔practice-as-
a-fully-licensed-physician-but-without-a-certification-or-specialty.
Who's-not-licensed-by-the-TMB-as-physicians-in-Texas?---ans-✔✔Naturopathic-doctors,-
podiatrists,-optometrist,-chiropractors,-dentist,-and-any-other-doctors-(they-have-their-
own-governing-bodies-and-rules)
How-often-do-you-have-renew-your-license?---ans-✔✔every-2-years-(after-initial-license-
period)
*-which-means-you-have-between-12-24-months-to-renew-license-without-being-fined
Will-you-receive-a-fine-if-your-license-is-expired-less-than-30-days?---ans-✔✔No