100% satisfaction guarantee Immediately available after payment Both online and in PDF No strings attached 4.2 TrustPilot
logo-home
Exam (elaborations)

NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 2 (Definitions of Playing Terms)

Rating
-
Sold
-
Pages
7
Grade
A+
Uploaded on
29-08-2024
Written in
2024/2025

NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 2 (Definitions of Playing Terms)

Institution
NFHS Football Case Plays -
Course
NFHS Football Case Plays -









Whoops! We can’t load your doc right now. Try again or contact support.

Written for

Institution
NFHS Football Case Plays -
Course
NFHS Football Case Plays -

Document information

Uploaded on
August 29, 2024
Number of pages
7
Written in
2024/2025
Type
Exam (elaborations)
Contains
Questions & answers

Subjects

Content preview

NFHS FOOTBALL CASE PLAYS - RULE 2
DEFINITIONS OF PLAYING TERMS
h2.8 SITUATION A:

After the ball is marked ready for play for a scrimmage down:

(a) B1 enters the neutral zone to give defensive signals; or

(b) B2, the nose guard, places his hand on the ground so that it is in contact with the ball.



After the ready-for-play signal and the snapper places hand(s) on the ball:

(c) A1 or B3 break the plane of the neutral zone; or

(d) B1 is conferring with his coach and is on A's side of the neutral zone. - RULING: Encroachment in (a),
(b), (c) and (d). Whenever a player is illegally in the neutral zone, it is encroachment. (7-1, 7-2)

2.8 SITUATION B:

After the ball is marked ready for play for a free kick, but before it is kicked:

(a) place-kick holder K1 kneels so one leg and part of his body are beyond K's free-kick line; or

(b) K2 who is near the kicker or the place-kick holder is beyond K's free-kick line before the ball is kicked.
- RULING: In (a), it is permissible for the place-kick holder or the kicker to be beyond the free-kick line
prior to the time the ball is kicked. In (b), it is encroachment for any other player to be beyond his free-
kick line prior to the time the ball is kicked.

2.8 SITUATION C:

Following the ready-for-play signal, but before the free kick:

(a) R1 advances to block the kicker/holder and is beyond the plane of R's free-kick line before the ball is
kicked; or(b) R has only four players within 5 yards of its free-kick line; or

(c) R2, who is one of several R players within 5 yards of his free-kick line, retreats from this area prior to
the time the ball is kicked. - RULING: In (a), it is encroachment. The covering official will sound his whistle
to prevent the ball from being kicked when encroachment occurs. In (b) and (c), the action is legal, as
there is no requirement for positioning of R players on their side of the neutral zone.

2.15.2 SITUATION:

It is first and 10 for A at B's 12-yard line. A1 sprints near the end line and then buttonhooks. He jumps
and possesses a forward pass while in the air above the end zone.

(a) A1's momentum carries him back into the field of play and he lands and is downed on the 1-yard line;
or(b) while in the air in the end zone, he is contacted by B1 and he is carried out of the end zone and

, downed on B's 2-yard line. - RULING: In (a), it is A's ball first and goal at B's 1-yard line. In (b), it is a
touchdown because A1 was contacted in the end zone. (2-4-1)

2.17.2 SITUATION A:

A1 is legally in motion at the snap: (a) within the free-blocking zone, or (b) outside the free-blocking
zone. In (a), A1 blocks B1 below the waist within the free-blocking zone. In (b), A1 comes into the free-
blocking zone and blocks B1 above the waist and in the back. - RULING: It is an illegal block in both (a)
and (b). In (a), this is blocking below the waist and in (b) it is blocking in the back. The offensive blocker
must be on the line of scrimmage at the snap to be able to legally block below the waist. (2-17-3, 9-3-2,
9-3-5 PENALTY)

2.17.2 SITUATION B:

After the snap A1, an offensive lineman in the free-blocking zone at the snap, blocks B1 then disengages
and blocks B2 below the waist before the ball has left the zone. Both B1 and B2 were in the zone and on
the line of scrimmage at the snap. The contact takes place in the free-blocking zone. - RULING: It is legal
for A1 to block below the waist on his second block since the ball is still in the zone. (9-3-2)

2.17.2 SITUATION C:

Back A9 is lined up behind quarterback A8 within the free-blocking zone. As A8 drops back to pass, A9
blocks B7, who was in the free-blocking zone at the snap, below the waist. - RULING: Illegal block by A9.
An offensive player must be on the line of scrimmage and in the free-blocking zone at the snap in order
to block a defensive player below the waist who was also on the line of scrimmage and in the free-
blocking zone at the snap. (9-3-2)

2.17.2 SITUATION D:

Linebacker B7 is in the free-blocking zone, but off the line of scrimmage. B7 blocks A8 below the waist. -
RULING: Illegal block. In order for a block below the waist to be legal, both the blocker and the person
being blocked must be on the line of scrimmage and in the free-blocking zone.

*2.17.2 SITUATION E:

A1 is in shotgun formation, lined up seven yards behind the line of scrimmage ready to receive the snap.
Immediately after the snap to A1, (a) A2 initiates his block simultaneously with the snap and blocks B1
below the waist or (b) A2 rises, and slightly retreats as if to go in traditional pass blocking protection, but
then dives and blocks B1 below the waist. Both A2 and B1 were in the zone and on the line of scrimmage
at the snap. The contact between A2 and B1 takes place in the free-blocking zone. - RULING: It is a legal
block in (a) and an illegal block below the waist in (b). It is legal for A2 to block B1 below the waist while
the free-blocking zone exists and this likely can only occur in (a) if the block is initiated simultaneously
with the snap. Any later, and the ball will likely have left the free-blocking zone and the block is illegal.

2.17.3 SITUATION A:

Offensive lineman A1 is on his scrimmage line and in the free-blocking zone at the snap. Immediately
after the snap he drops back one step, then moves quickly three steps to the inside and while still in the
free-blocking zone, contacts B1 in the back. The ball has not left the free-blocking zone prior to A1's
block. B1 was in the free-blocking zone at the snap. - RULING: Legal block by A1.

Get to know the seller

Seller avatar
Reputation scores are based on the amount of documents a seller has sold for a fee and the reviews they have received for those documents. There are three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. The better the reputation, the more your can rely on the quality of the sellers work.
EXAMACCURACY NURSING
View profile
Follow You need to be logged in order to follow users or courses
Sold
128
Member since
1 year
Number of followers
11
Documents
6772
Last sold
1 month ago
COMPLETE VICTORY

OUR MATERIALS REFLECT THE LATEST EXAM FORMATS & CONTENT WITH DETAILED EXPLANATION TO HELP YOU GRASP CHALLENGING CONCEPTS ... TEST YOUR KNOWLEDGE WITH OUR PRACTICE EXAMS DESIGNED TO SIMULATE THE REAL TEST EXPERIENCE ... I ASSURE GOOD GRADE IF YOU USE MY WORK...

3.5

15 reviews

5
7
4
1
3
2
2
2
1
3

Recently viewed by you

Why students choose Stuvia

Created by fellow students, verified by reviews

Quality you can trust: written by students who passed their tests and reviewed by others who've used these notes.

Didn't get what you expected? Choose another document

No worries! You can instantly pick a different document that better fits what you're looking for.

Pay as you like, start learning right away

No subscription, no commitments. Pay the way you're used to via credit card and download your PDF document instantly.

Student with book image

“Bought, downloaded, and aced it. It really can be that simple.”

Alisha Student

Frequently asked questions