NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 7 (Snapping, Handing, and Passing the Ball) 100% Accurate Answers.
7.1.3 SITUATION: A's linemen take their positions and snapper A1 has made preliminary adjustments. Prior to the snap A1: (a) tilts the ball to an angle of 90 degrees; or(b) lifts the ball and pushes it forward in order to make a deep snap or;(c) rotates the ball end for end; or(d) removes both hands. correct answers RULING: Legal in (a). It is a snap infraction in (b), (c) and (d). The covering official will sound his whistle immediately, signifying the ball remains dead. A snap infraction is a dead-ball foul and the penalty of 5 yards is administered from the succeeding spot. (2-40-2, 4-1-6, 7-1-2, 7-1-3, 10-4-4b) 7.1.5 SITUATION: Following the ready-for-play signal, but before A has taken any positions on the line of scrimmage, B1 is either in or beyond the neutral zone facing his teammates while giving defensive signals. correct answers RULING: Encroachment by B1. (2-8) 7.1.6 SITUATION A: When A comes to the line of scrimmage, the linemen assume their final positions such that: (a) five linemen penetrate the vertical plane through the waistline of the snapper while the head of the sixth penetrates the plane drawn through the waistline of the nearest teammate who is on his line of scrimmage; or (b) one interior lineman has his head penetrating the neutral zone while the other linemen are all penetrating the vertical plane of the snapper's waistline. correct answers RULING: In (a), it is illegal formation which is a foul simultaneously with the snap. The offended team will be given the option of taking the result of the play or accepting the penalty and replaying the down. In (b), it is encroachment for a player to have any part of his body penetrating the plane of the neutral zone after the ready and the snapper has placed his hand(s) on the ball. This is a dead-ball foul and the ball will not be permitted to become live. (2-8, 2-25-2, 2-32-9, 7-1-5, 7-2-3) 7.1.6 SITUATION B: Snapper A1 is positioned over the ball following the ready signal, but has not yet placed his hand(s) on it. Either: (a) A2; or (b) B1, breaks the plane of the neutral zone. Both players adjust their position and get behind the neutral zone; or (c) A1 has a hand on the ground and then stands erect to call out a blocking assignment. correct answers RULING: No infraction in either (a), (b) or (c). In (c), the snapper is not restricted as are other linemen after placing a hand on or near the ground. (7-1-7c) 7.1.6 SITUATION C: A1 takes his position over the ball and B1 breaks the plane of the neutral zone: (a) after A1 has placed his hands on the ball following a change of possession with A having a new series and following the referee's ready-for-play signal; (b) after A1 has placed his hands on the ball on first, second, third or fourth down when no change of possession has occurred and the covering official on the previous play has given the dead ball signal following the previous play; or (c)
Written for
- Institution
- NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 7 (Snapping, Handi
- Module
- NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 7 (Snapping, Handi
Document information
- Uploaded on
- July 22, 2023
- Number of pages
- 13
- Written in
- 2022/2023
- Type
- Exam (elaborations)
- Contains
- Questions & answers
Subjects
-
713 situation as linemen take their positions
Also available in package deal