100% CORRECT ANSWERS|LATEST
8.01 As S2 is preparing to
B B B B B
attack the ball, an errant ball
B B B B B
rolls across the court of Team S
B B B B B B
behind S2. A referee blows a
B B B B B
whistle because of the loose
B B B B
ball. S2 then spikes the ball to
B B B B B B
the floor on Team R's side of
B B B B B B
the net. - ANSWER
B B B Ruling: Replay. The whistle stopped the
B B B B B
rally. In the judgment of the first referee,
B B B B B B B
the loose ball interrupted play.
B B B B
8.02 After a team's third hit, the
B B B B B B
ball strikes the top of the net,
B B B B B B
and the first referee
B B B
immediately blows a whistle. B B B
After the whistle, the ball rolls
B B B B B
along the net and falls across
B B B B B
the net into the opponent's
B B B B
court. - ANSWER B B Ruling: Inadvertent whistle. Play could
B B B B
have continued had the referee not blown
B B B B B B
the whistle. A replay shall be called.
B B B B B B
8.03 R4 passes the ball into the
B B B B B B
net on the team's third hit. As
B B B B B B
1
,the ball falls from the net
B B B B B
toward the floor, the first
B B B B
referee blows the whistle. - ANSWER
B B B B B Ruling: Inadvertent whistle. The referee
B B B B
should not have ended play until the ball
B B B B B B B
was contacted a fourth time or until it
B B B B B B B
touched the floor. However, a point and
B B B B B B
service will be awarded to Team S since the
B B B B B B B B
whistle did not affect the outcome of the
B B B B B B B
play.
8.04 R2 tips the ball over a
B B B B B B
block by S3 and S4. As the ball
B B B B B B B
is falling behind the blockers,
B B B B
the first referee anticipates the
B B B B
ball contacting the floor and
B B B B
blows the whistle. S6 dives
B B B B
toward the ball before itB B B B
contacts the floor as the whistle B B B B B
sounds. - ANSWER B B Ruling: Inadvertent whistle. The whistle
B B B B
stops the rally. If the referee felt that the
B B B B B B B B
whistle did not affect the outcome, the call
B B B B B B B
stands. If the first referee now believes the
B B B B B B B
whistle had an effect on the play, the first
B B B B B B B B
referee should call for a replay.
B B B B B
8.05 During a rally, S3
B B B B
successfully attacks a ball to the B B B B B
2
,floor of Team R's court. The
B B B B B
first referee whistles and
B B B
indicates an attack-hit fault, B B B
thinking S3 was a back row B B B B B
player. The Team S captain
B B B B
immediately protests the call B B B
stating that S3 is a front row
B B B B B B
player. After verifying the
B B B
player positions, the first referee
B B B B
realizes S3 was in the front row B B B B B B
and signals for a replay due to
B B B B B B
the inadvertent whistle. - ANSWER
B B B B Ruling: The first referee's decision is
B B B B B
incorrect. The referee's error did not changeB B B B B B
the fact that S3 attacked the ball to the floor
B B B B B B B B B
of Team R's court. The first referee's
B B B B B B
original decision (attack-hit fault) should be
B B B B B
reversed and next service awarded to TeamB B B B B B
S because of the successful attack-hit.
B B B B B
8.07 R3 passes a served ball
B B B B B
toward a non-playing area. The
B B B B
ball contacts a ceiling beam 6 m
B B B B B B
(19'8") above the playing area
B B B B
and rebounds back toward
B B B
Team R's court. Had the ball
B B B B B
not contacted the ceiling, it
B B B B
would have landed out of B B B B
3
, bounds. - ANSWER B B Ruling: Play continues. When a ball strikes
B B B B B B
an overhead obstruction above a playing
B B B B B
area, the ball shall remain in play until a
B B B B B B B B
fault occurs. The referee may not rule that
B B B B B B B
the ball would not have been playable had
B B B B B B B
the overhead obstruction not been there.
B B B B B
However, if the ceiling beam had beenB B B B B B
above a non-playing area, the ball would
B B B B B B
have been ruled "out."
B B B
8.08 R5 receives a serve and
B B B B B
the ball strikes the vertical
B B B B
portion of an observation room
B B B B
built over Team R's playing
B B B B
area. The lowest horizontal
B B B
portion of the room is 5.5 m
B B B B B B
(18') above the playing surface.
B B B B
The ball then falls toward Team
B B B B B
R's playing court, where R3
B B B B
sets the ball to R4, who attacks
B B B B B B
the ball to the floor of Team S's
B B B B B B B
court. - ANSWER B B Ruling: Legal play. Next serve to Team R. B B B B B B B
The ball remains in play after contacting
B B B B B B
any obstruction 4.6 m (15') or more above
B B B B B B B
the playing area. The vertical surface of the
B B B B B B B
obstruction is still part of an overhead B B B B B B
obstruction. It is not a wall or divider which B B B B B B B B
4
8.01 As S2 is preparing to
B B B B B
attack the ball, an errant ball
B B B B B
rolls across the court of Team S
B B B B B B
behind S2. A referee blows a
B B B B B
whistle because of the loose
B B B B
ball. S2 then spikes the ball to
B B B B B B
the floor on Team R's side of
B B B B B B
the net. - ANSWER
B B B Ruling: Replay. The whistle stopped the
B B B B B
rally. In the judgment of the first referee,
B B B B B B B
the loose ball interrupted play.
B B B B
8.02 After a team's third hit, the
B B B B B B
ball strikes the top of the net,
B B B B B B
and the first referee
B B B
immediately blows a whistle. B B B
After the whistle, the ball rolls
B B B B B
along the net and falls across
B B B B B
the net into the opponent's
B B B B
court. - ANSWER B B Ruling: Inadvertent whistle. Play could
B B B B
have continued had the referee not blown
B B B B B B
the whistle. A replay shall be called.
B B B B B B
8.03 R4 passes the ball into the
B B B B B B
net on the team's third hit. As
B B B B B B
1
,the ball falls from the net
B B B B B
toward the floor, the first
B B B B
referee blows the whistle. - ANSWER
B B B B B Ruling: Inadvertent whistle. The referee
B B B B
should not have ended play until the ball
B B B B B B B
was contacted a fourth time or until it
B B B B B B B
touched the floor. However, a point and
B B B B B B
service will be awarded to Team S since the
B B B B B B B B
whistle did not affect the outcome of the
B B B B B B B
play.
8.04 R2 tips the ball over a
B B B B B B
block by S3 and S4. As the ball
B B B B B B B
is falling behind the blockers,
B B B B
the first referee anticipates the
B B B B
ball contacting the floor and
B B B B
blows the whistle. S6 dives
B B B B
toward the ball before itB B B B
contacts the floor as the whistle B B B B B
sounds. - ANSWER B B Ruling: Inadvertent whistle. The whistle
B B B B
stops the rally. If the referee felt that the
B B B B B B B B
whistle did not affect the outcome, the call
B B B B B B B
stands. If the first referee now believes the
B B B B B B B
whistle had an effect on the play, the first
B B B B B B B B
referee should call for a replay.
B B B B B
8.05 During a rally, S3
B B B B
successfully attacks a ball to the B B B B B
2
,floor of Team R's court. The
B B B B B
first referee whistles and
B B B
indicates an attack-hit fault, B B B
thinking S3 was a back row B B B B B
player. The Team S captain
B B B B
immediately protests the call B B B
stating that S3 is a front row
B B B B B B
player. After verifying the
B B B
player positions, the first referee
B B B B
realizes S3 was in the front row B B B B B B
and signals for a replay due to
B B B B B B
the inadvertent whistle. - ANSWER
B B B B Ruling: The first referee's decision is
B B B B B
incorrect. The referee's error did not changeB B B B B B
the fact that S3 attacked the ball to the floor
B B B B B B B B B
of Team R's court. The first referee's
B B B B B B
original decision (attack-hit fault) should be
B B B B B
reversed and next service awarded to TeamB B B B B B
S because of the successful attack-hit.
B B B B B
8.07 R3 passes a served ball
B B B B B
toward a non-playing area. The
B B B B
ball contacts a ceiling beam 6 m
B B B B B B
(19'8") above the playing area
B B B B
and rebounds back toward
B B B
Team R's court. Had the ball
B B B B B
not contacted the ceiling, it
B B B B
would have landed out of B B B B
3
, bounds. - ANSWER B B Ruling: Play continues. When a ball strikes
B B B B B B
an overhead obstruction above a playing
B B B B B
area, the ball shall remain in play until a
B B B B B B B B
fault occurs. The referee may not rule that
B B B B B B B
the ball would not have been playable had
B B B B B B B
the overhead obstruction not been there.
B B B B B
However, if the ceiling beam had beenB B B B B B
above a non-playing area, the ball would
B B B B B B
have been ruled "out."
B B B
8.08 R5 receives a serve and
B B B B B
the ball strikes the vertical
B B B B
portion of an observation room
B B B B
built over Team R's playing
B B B B
area. The lowest horizontal
B B B
portion of the room is 5.5 m
B B B B B B
(18') above the playing surface.
B B B B
The ball then falls toward Team
B B B B B
R's playing court, where R3
B B B B
sets the ball to R4, who attacks
B B B B B B
the ball to the floor of Team S's
B B B B B B B
court. - ANSWER B B Ruling: Legal play. Next serve to Team R. B B B B B B B
The ball remains in play after contacting
B B B B B B
any obstruction 4.6 m (15') or more above
B B B B B B B
the playing area. The vertical surface of the
B B B B B B B
obstruction is still part of an overhead B B B B B B
obstruction. It is not a wall or divider which B B B B B B B B
4