IAABO WRITTEN EXAM QUESTIONS
AND ANSWERS
The coach of team B is acting in an unsporting manner toward the official. The
official rules that no warning need be issued before a technical foul is charged. Is
the official correct? - Yes 4-48
The scorer fails to record a free throw for team A in the 2nd quarter. At half time
the mistake is recognized. The official rules the mistake can be corrected because
this is a bookkeeping mistake. Is the official correct? - Yes 2-11-11
The head coach ofTeamA is charged with two direct technical fouls. The official
ejects the coach for receiving two direct technical fouls. Is the official correct? -
Yes 10-6 Note
Prior to A-1 receiving the ball for his/her first free throw, Team A chooses not to
occupy the second marked lane space. B-2 moves into the second marked lane
space. Official does not allow B-2 to occupy that space for the free throw. is the
official correct? - No 8-1-4c; 8-1-4e
A fight breaks out between A-1 and B-1. The head coach of Team A enters the
court to help restore order and prevent the situation from escalating. The official
charges the coach with a technical foul for entering the court without being
beckoned. Is the official correct? - No 10-6-1 Note
IAABO WRITTEN EXAM
, IAABO WRITTEN EXAM
Team A scores and then is granted a time-out. Following the time-out the official
rules that Team B may move along the endline for the throw-in. Is the official
correct? - Yes 7-5-7
While A-1's try is in flight, a double personal foul is committed. The try is
successful. The official resumes play by awarding the ball to Team B for a throw-
in. ls the official correct? - Yes 4-36-2b
A-1 is holding the ball in the frontcourt while closely guarded. When A-I starts
his/her dribble, the official continues the 5-second closely guarded count. ls the
official correct? - No 9-10-1a
A-1's throw-in is deflected into the backcourt by A-2, who is in the frontcourt. A-I
is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt. The official rules a legal play. Is the
official correct? - Yes 9-9-1
While dribbling, A- I commits a common foul against B-1. The official rules a
player control foul. Is the official correct? - Yes 4-19-6
A-1's try is in the cylinder directly above the basket ring when B-1 touches the
ring. The official rules this basket interference. Is the official correct? - No 4-6
While dribbling from the backcourt to frontcourt, A-1 has both feet in the
frontcourt while the ball is being dribbled in the backcourt. The official ends the
I0-second count. ls the official correct? - No 4-4-6; 9-8
IAABO WRITTEN EXAM