NFHS Football exam with correct answers
9th |grade |and |above |inflation |pressure |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-Inflation |pressure |12 |1/2 |to |13 |1/2 |
psi
8th |grade |and |below |inflation |pressure |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-12 |1/2 |to |13 |1/2 |psi
Dead |ball |is |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |ball |not |in |play. |The |ball |is |dead |during |the |interval |between
|downs.
Live |ball |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |ball |in |play. |A |ball |becomes |live |when |the |ball |has |been |legally |
snapped |or |free |kicked |and |a |down |is |in |progress.
Loose |ball |is |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |pass, |fumble |or |a |kick. |The |terms |"pass," |"fumble" |and
|"kick" |are |sometimes |used |as |abbreviations |when |the |ball |is |loose |following |the |acts |of |passing, |
fumbling |or |kicking |the |ball. |A |loose |ball |which |has |not |yet |touched |the |ground |is |in |flight. |A |
grounded |loose |ball |is |one |which |has |touched |the |ground. |Any |loose |ball |continues |to |be |a |loose |ball
|until |a |player |secures |possession |of |it |or |until |it |becomes |dead |by |rule, |whichever |comes |first.
Batting |is |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |intentionally |slapping |or |striking |the |ball |with |the |arm |or |hand.
Blocking |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-obstructing |an |opponent |by |contacting |him |with |any |part |of |the |
blocker's |body. |ART. |2 |. |. |. |In |blocking, |a |player |may |contact |opponents |with |the |arms |or |hands |
provided |the |technique |is |legal. |The |legal |techniques |are |as |follows: |a. |Closed |or |cupped |hand |
technique: |1. |The |elbows |may |be |inside |or |outside |the |shoulders. |2. |The |hands |must |be |closed |or |
cupped |with |the |palms |not |facing |the |opponent. |3. |The |forearms |are |extended |no |more |than |45 |
degrees |from |the |body. |b. |Open |hand |technique. |The |hand(s) |shall |be: |1. |In |advance |of |the |elbow. |2. |
Inside |the |frame |of |the |blocker's |body; |the |frame |of |the |blocker's |body |is |the |front |of |the |body |at |or |
below |the |shoulders. |3. |Inside |the |frame |of |the |opponent's |body, |except |when |the |opponent |turns |
his |back |to |the |blocker |during |the |block |or |after |the |blocker |is |committed |to |his |charge. |The |frame |of
|the |opponent's |body |is |at |the |shoulders |or |below |other |than |the |back. |4. |At |or |below |the |shoulders |
of |the |blocker |and |the |opponent, |except |when |the |opponent |squats, |ducks |or |submarines |during |the |
block |or |after |the |blocker |is |committed |to |his |charge. |5. |Open, |when |the |palm(s) |are |facing |the |frame
|of |the |opponent |or |when |the |forearms |are |extended |beyond |the |45 |degree |angle |from |the |body.
Blockers |hands |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-The |blocker's |hand(s) |may |not |be |locked |nor |may |he |swing, |
throw |or |flip |the |elbow |or |forearm |so |that |it |is |moving |faster |than |the |blocker's |shoulders |at |the |
time |the |elbow, |forearm |or |shoulder |contacts |the |opponent. |The |blocker |may |not |initiate |contact |
with |his |arm |or |hand |against |an |opponent |above |the |opponent's |shoulder, |but |he |may |use |his |hand |
or |arm |to |break |a |fall |or |maintain |his |balance.
Offensive |players |blocking |hands |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-may |also |use |his |hands |or |arms: |a. |When |
he |is |a |runner, |to |ward |off |or |push |any |player. |b. |During |a |kick, |to |ward |off |an |opponent |who |is |
attempting |to |block |him. |c. |To |push, |pull |or |ward |off |an |opponent |when |the |ball |is |loose |if |he |may |
,legally |touch |or |possess |the |ball |if |such |contact |is |not |pass |interference, |a |personal |foul |or |illegal |use |
of |hands.
Defensive |blocking |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-Use |unlocked |hands, |hand |or |arm |to |ward |off |an |
opponent |who |is |blocking |him |or |is |attempting |to |block |him. |b. |Push, |pull |or |ward |off |an |opponent |in
|an |actual |attempt |to |get |at |the |runner |or |a |loose |ball |if |such |contact |is |not |pass |interference, |a |
personal |foul |or |illegal |use |of |hands.
Blocking |article |6 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-When |a |player |on |defense |uses |a |hand |or |arm, |the |hand |
must |be |in |advance |of |the |elbow |at |the |time |of |the |contact |and |at |the |shoulder |or |below |unless |the |
opponent |squats, |ducks |or |submarines.
Blocking |below |the |waist |article |7 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |making |initial |contact |below |the |waist |
from |the |front |or |side |against |an |opponent |other |than |a |runner. |Contact |with |an |opponent's |hand(s) |
below |the |waist |that |continues |into |the |body |below |the |waist |is |considered |blocking |below |the |waist.
|Blocking |below |the |waist |applies |only |when |the |opponent |has |one |or |both |feet |on |the |ground.
Chop |block |article |8 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |combination |block |by |two |or |more |teammates |
against |an |opponent |other |than |the |runner, |with |or |without |delay, |where |one |of |the |blocks |is |low |(at
|the |knee |or |below) |and |one |of |the |blocks |is |high |(above |the |knee) |( |Table |9-3-6 |).
Interlock |block |article |9 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-occurs |when |one |player |grasps |or |encircles |a |
teammate |just |prior |to |or |while |blocking |an |opponent.
Blindside |block |article |10 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |block |against |an |opponent |other |than |the |
runner, |who |does |not |see |the |blocker |approaching.
Section |4 |article |1 |Catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |the |act |of |establishing |player |possession |of |a |live |
ball |which |is |in |flight, |and |first |contacting |the |ground |inbounds |while |maintaining |possession |of |the |
ball |or |having |the |forward |progress |of |the |player |in |possession |stopped |while |the |opponent |is |
carrying |the |player |who |is |in |possession |and |inbounds.
Catching |article |2 |and |article |3 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-Catching |is |always |preceded |by |touching |the |
ball; |thus, |if |touching |causes |the |ball |to |become |dead, |securing |possession |of |the |ball |has |no |
significance. |ART. |3 |. |. |. |A |simultaneous |catch |or |recovery |is |a |catch |or |recovery |in |which |there |is |
joint |possession |of |a |live |ball |by |opposing |players |who |are |inbounds.
Section |5 |article |1 |clipping |/ |blocking |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-a |block |against |an |opponent |when |the |
initial |contact |is |from |behind, |at |or |below |the |waist, |and |not |against |a |player |who |is |a |runner |or |
pretending |to |be |a |runner.
section |5 |article |2 |blocking |in |the |back |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |block |against |an |opponent |when |
the |initial |contact |is |in |the |opponent's |back, |inside |the |shoulders |and |below |the |helmet |and |above |
the |waist, |and |not |against |a |player |who |is |a |runner |or |pretending |to |be |a |runner.
Section |7 |article |1 |loss |of |down |and |article |2 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-action |which |starts |with |a |legal |
snap |(beginning |a |scrimmage |down) |or |when |the |ball |is |kicked |on |a |free |kick |(beginning |a |free-kick |
down). |A |down |ends |when |the |ball |next |becomes |dead.
, ART. |2 |. |. |. |Loss |of |a |down |is |the |loss |of |the |right |to |replay |a |down.
Section |8 |Encroachment |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-occurs |when |a |player |is |illegally |in |the |neutral |zone |
during |the |time |interval |starting |when |the |ball |is |marked |ready |for |play |and |until |the |ball |is |snapped |
or |free |kicked |as |in |6-1-3a |or |6-1-3b |. |For |the |purposes |of |enforcing |encroachment |restrictions, |an |
entering |substitute |is |not |considered |to |be |a |player |until |he |is |on |his |team's |side |of |the |neutral |zone.
|Encroachment |also |occurs |when |a |player |violates |the |free |kick |restrictions |as |in |6-1-4 |.
Section |9 |article |1 |fair |catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-A |fair |catch |is |a |catch |by |a |receiver |of |a |free |
kick |in |or |beyond |the |neutral |zone |to |the |receiver's |goal |line, |or |of |a |scrimmage |kick |beyond |the |
neutral |zone |to |the |receiver's |goal |line, |after |a |valid |signal, |under |conditions |in |which |the |receiver |
forfeits |the |right |to |advance |the |ball |in |return |for |protection |from |being |blocked |or |tackled |by |an |
opponent.
Section |9 |article |2 |Awarded |Fair |Catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-occurs |when |the |offended |team |
chooses |to |take |the |ball |after |enforcement |of |a |foul |for |kick-catching |interference.
Section |9 |article |3 |valid |fair |catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |the |extending |and |lateral |waving |of |one |
arm, |at |full |arm's |length |above |the |head, |by |any |R |player.
Section |9 |article |4 |invalid |fair |catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-signal |is |any |signal |by |a |receiver |before |
the |kick |is |caught |or |recovered: |a. |That |does |not |meet |the |requirements |of |a |valid |signal. |b. |After |the
|kick |has |touched |a |receiver. |c. |After |the |kick |has |touched |the |ground.
Section |9 |article |5 |illegal |fair |catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-signal |is |any |signal |by |a |runner: |a. |After |
the |kick |has |been |caught. |b. |After |the |kick |has |been |recovered.
Section |10 |field |areas |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-ART. |1 |. |. |. |The |field |is |the |area |within |the |boundary |
lines |and |the |endlines. |ART. |2 |. |. |. |The |field |of |play |is |the |area |within |the |boundary |lines |and |the |goal
|lines. |ART. |3 |. |. |. |The |side |zones |are |the |areas |bounded |by |the |sidelines, |the |hash |marks |and |the |goal
|lines. |ART. |4 |. |. |. |The |end |zones |are |10 |yards |in |depth |and |are |located |at |each |end |of |the |field |
between |the |goal |line |and |the |end |line. |The |goal |line |is |in |the |end |zone |and |a |team's |end |zone |is |the
|one |it |is |defending.
Section |11 |Fighting |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-Fighting |is |any |attempt |by |a |player |or |nonplayer |to |strike |
or |engage |a |player |or |nonplayer |in |a |combative |manner |unrelated |to |football. |Such |acts |include, |but |
are |not |limited |to, |attempts |to |strike |an |opponent(s) |with |the |arm(s), |hand(s), |leg(s) |or |foot |(feet), |
whether |or |not |there |is |contact.
Section |12 |First |Touch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-During |a |free |kick |it |is |first |touching |if |the |ball |is |
touched |in |the |field |of |play |by |any |K |player |before |it |crosses |R's |free-kick |line |and |before |it |is |
touched |there |by |any |R |player. |ART. |2 |. |. |. |During |a |scrimmage |kick |it |is |first |touching |if |the |ball |is |
touched |by |any |K |player |in |the |field |of |play |and |beyond |the |expanded |neutral |zone |before |it |is |
touched |there |by |R |and |before |the |ball |has |come |to |rest.
Section |13 |Force |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-Force |is |the |result |of |energy |exerted |by |a |player |which |
provides |movement |of |the |ball. |The |term |force |is |used |only |in |connection |with |the |goal |line |and |in |
only |one |direction, |i.e., |from |the |field |of |play |into |the |end |zone. |Initial |force |results |from |a |carry, |
fumble, |kick, |pass |or |snap. |After |a |fumble, |kick |or |backward |pass |has |been |grounded, |a |new |force |
9th |grade |and |above |inflation |pressure |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-Inflation |pressure |12 |1/2 |to |13 |1/2 |
psi
8th |grade |and |below |inflation |pressure |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-12 |1/2 |to |13 |1/2 |psi
Dead |ball |is |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |ball |not |in |play. |The |ball |is |dead |during |the |interval |between
|downs.
Live |ball |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |ball |in |play. |A |ball |becomes |live |when |the |ball |has |been |legally |
snapped |or |free |kicked |and |a |down |is |in |progress.
Loose |ball |is |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |pass, |fumble |or |a |kick. |The |terms |"pass," |"fumble" |and
|"kick" |are |sometimes |used |as |abbreviations |when |the |ball |is |loose |following |the |acts |of |passing, |
fumbling |or |kicking |the |ball. |A |loose |ball |which |has |not |yet |touched |the |ground |is |in |flight. |A |
grounded |loose |ball |is |one |which |has |touched |the |ground. |Any |loose |ball |continues |to |be |a |loose |ball
|until |a |player |secures |possession |of |it |or |until |it |becomes |dead |by |rule, |whichever |comes |first.
Batting |is |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |intentionally |slapping |or |striking |the |ball |with |the |arm |or |hand.
Blocking |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-obstructing |an |opponent |by |contacting |him |with |any |part |of |the |
blocker's |body. |ART. |2 |. |. |. |In |blocking, |a |player |may |contact |opponents |with |the |arms |or |hands |
provided |the |technique |is |legal. |The |legal |techniques |are |as |follows: |a. |Closed |or |cupped |hand |
technique: |1. |The |elbows |may |be |inside |or |outside |the |shoulders. |2. |The |hands |must |be |closed |or |
cupped |with |the |palms |not |facing |the |opponent. |3. |The |forearms |are |extended |no |more |than |45 |
degrees |from |the |body. |b. |Open |hand |technique. |The |hand(s) |shall |be: |1. |In |advance |of |the |elbow. |2. |
Inside |the |frame |of |the |blocker's |body; |the |frame |of |the |blocker's |body |is |the |front |of |the |body |at |or |
below |the |shoulders. |3. |Inside |the |frame |of |the |opponent's |body, |except |when |the |opponent |turns |
his |back |to |the |blocker |during |the |block |or |after |the |blocker |is |committed |to |his |charge. |The |frame |of
|the |opponent's |body |is |at |the |shoulders |or |below |other |than |the |back. |4. |At |or |below |the |shoulders |
of |the |blocker |and |the |opponent, |except |when |the |opponent |squats, |ducks |or |submarines |during |the |
block |or |after |the |blocker |is |committed |to |his |charge. |5. |Open, |when |the |palm(s) |are |facing |the |frame
|of |the |opponent |or |when |the |forearms |are |extended |beyond |the |45 |degree |angle |from |the |body.
Blockers |hands |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-The |blocker's |hand(s) |may |not |be |locked |nor |may |he |swing, |
throw |or |flip |the |elbow |or |forearm |so |that |it |is |moving |faster |than |the |blocker's |shoulders |at |the |
time |the |elbow, |forearm |or |shoulder |contacts |the |opponent. |The |blocker |may |not |initiate |contact |
with |his |arm |or |hand |against |an |opponent |above |the |opponent's |shoulder, |but |he |may |use |his |hand |
or |arm |to |break |a |fall |or |maintain |his |balance.
Offensive |players |blocking |hands |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-may |also |use |his |hands |or |arms: |a. |When |
he |is |a |runner, |to |ward |off |or |push |any |player. |b. |During |a |kick, |to |ward |off |an |opponent |who |is |
attempting |to |block |him. |c. |To |push, |pull |or |ward |off |an |opponent |when |the |ball |is |loose |if |he |may |
,legally |touch |or |possess |the |ball |if |such |contact |is |not |pass |interference, |a |personal |foul |or |illegal |use |
of |hands.
Defensive |blocking |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-Use |unlocked |hands, |hand |or |arm |to |ward |off |an |
opponent |who |is |blocking |him |or |is |attempting |to |block |him. |b. |Push, |pull |or |ward |off |an |opponent |in
|an |actual |attempt |to |get |at |the |runner |or |a |loose |ball |if |such |contact |is |not |pass |interference, |a |
personal |foul |or |illegal |use |of |hands.
Blocking |article |6 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-When |a |player |on |defense |uses |a |hand |or |arm, |the |hand |
must |be |in |advance |of |the |elbow |at |the |time |of |the |contact |and |at |the |shoulder |or |below |unless |the |
opponent |squats, |ducks |or |submarines.
Blocking |below |the |waist |article |7 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |making |initial |contact |below |the |waist |
from |the |front |or |side |against |an |opponent |other |than |a |runner. |Contact |with |an |opponent's |hand(s) |
below |the |waist |that |continues |into |the |body |below |the |waist |is |considered |blocking |below |the |waist.
|Blocking |below |the |waist |applies |only |when |the |opponent |has |one |or |both |feet |on |the |ground.
Chop |block |article |8 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |combination |block |by |two |or |more |teammates |
against |an |opponent |other |than |the |runner, |with |or |without |delay, |where |one |of |the |blocks |is |low |(at
|the |knee |or |below) |and |one |of |the |blocks |is |high |(above |the |knee) |( |Table |9-3-6 |).
Interlock |block |article |9 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-occurs |when |one |player |grasps |or |encircles |a |
teammate |just |prior |to |or |while |blocking |an |opponent.
Blindside |block |article |10 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |block |against |an |opponent |other |than |the |
runner, |who |does |not |see |the |blocker |approaching.
Section |4 |article |1 |Catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |the |act |of |establishing |player |possession |of |a |live |
ball |which |is |in |flight, |and |first |contacting |the |ground |inbounds |while |maintaining |possession |of |the |
ball |or |having |the |forward |progress |of |the |player |in |possession |stopped |while |the |opponent |is |
carrying |the |player |who |is |in |possession |and |inbounds.
Catching |article |2 |and |article |3 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-Catching |is |always |preceded |by |touching |the |
ball; |thus, |if |touching |causes |the |ball |to |become |dead, |securing |possession |of |the |ball |has |no |
significance. |ART. |3 |. |. |. |A |simultaneous |catch |or |recovery |is |a |catch |or |recovery |in |which |there |is |
joint |possession |of |a |live |ball |by |opposing |players |who |are |inbounds.
Section |5 |article |1 |clipping |/ |blocking |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-a |block |against |an |opponent |when |the |
initial |contact |is |from |behind, |at |or |below |the |waist, |and |not |against |a |player |who |is |a |runner |or |
pretending |to |be |a |runner.
section |5 |article |2 |blocking |in |the |back |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |a |block |against |an |opponent |when |
the |initial |contact |is |in |the |opponent's |back, |inside |the |shoulders |and |below |the |helmet |and |above |
the |waist, |and |not |against |a |player |who |is |a |runner |or |pretending |to |be |a |runner.
Section |7 |article |1 |loss |of |down |and |article |2 |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-action |which |starts |with |a |legal |
snap |(beginning |a |scrimmage |down) |or |when |the |ball |is |kicked |on |a |free |kick |(beginning |a |free-kick |
down). |A |down |ends |when |the |ball |next |becomes |dead.
, ART. |2 |. |. |. |Loss |of |a |down |is |the |loss |of |the |right |to |replay |a |down.
Section |8 |Encroachment |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-occurs |when |a |player |is |illegally |in |the |neutral |zone |
during |the |time |interval |starting |when |the |ball |is |marked |ready |for |play |and |until |the |ball |is |snapped |
or |free |kicked |as |in |6-1-3a |or |6-1-3b |. |For |the |purposes |of |enforcing |encroachment |restrictions, |an |
entering |substitute |is |not |considered |to |be |a |player |until |he |is |on |his |team's |side |of |the |neutral |zone.
|Encroachment |also |occurs |when |a |player |violates |the |free |kick |restrictions |as |in |6-1-4 |.
Section |9 |article |1 |fair |catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-A |fair |catch |is |a |catch |by |a |receiver |of |a |free |
kick |in |or |beyond |the |neutral |zone |to |the |receiver's |goal |line, |or |of |a |scrimmage |kick |beyond |the |
neutral |zone |to |the |receiver's |goal |line, |after |a |valid |signal, |under |conditions |in |which |the |receiver |
forfeits |the |right |to |advance |the |ball |in |return |for |protection |from |being |blocked |or |tackled |by |an |
opponent.
Section |9 |article |2 |Awarded |Fair |Catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-occurs |when |the |offended |team |
chooses |to |take |the |ball |after |enforcement |of |a |foul |for |kick-catching |interference.
Section |9 |article |3 |valid |fair |catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-is |the |extending |and |lateral |waving |of |one |
arm, |at |full |arm's |length |above |the |head, |by |any |R |player.
Section |9 |article |4 |invalid |fair |catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-signal |is |any |signal |by |a |receiver |before |
the |kick |is |caught |or |recovered: |a. |That |does |not |meet |the |requirements |of |a |valid |signal. |b. |After |the
|kick |has |touched |a |receiver. |c. |After |the |kick |has |touched |the |ground.
Section |9 |article |5 |illegal |fair |catch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-signal |is |any |signal |by |a |runner: |a. |After |
the |kick |has |been |caught. |b. |After |the |kick |has |been |recovered.
Section |10 |field |areas |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-ART. |1 |. |. |. |The |field |is |the |area |within |the |boundary |
lines |and |the |endlines. |ART. |2 |. |. |. |The |field |of |play |is |the |area |within |the |boundary |lines |and |the |goal
|lines. |ART. |3 |. |. |. |The |side |zones |are |the |areas |bounded |by |the |sidelines, |the |hash |marks |and |the |goal
|lines. |ART. |4 |. |. |. |The |end |zones |are |10 |yards |in |depth |and |are |located |at |each |end |of |the |field |
between |the |goal |line |and |the |end |line. |The |goal |line |is |in |the |end |zone |and |a |team's |end |zone |is |the
|one |it |is |defending.
Section |11 |Fighting |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-Fighting |is |any |attempt |by |a |player |or |nonplayer |to |strike |
or |engage |a |player |or |nonplayer |in |a |combative |manner |unrelated |to |football. |Such |acts |include, |but |
are |not |limited |to, |attempts |to |strike |an |opponent(s) |with |the |arm(s), |hand(s), |leg(s) |or |foot |(feet), |
whether |or |not |there |is |contact.
Section |12 |First |Touch |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-During |a |free |kick |it |is |first |touching |if |the |ball |is |
touched |in |the |field |of |play |by |any |K |player |before |it |crosses |R's |free-kick |line |and |before |it |is |
touched |there |by |any |R |player. |ART. |2 |. |. |. |During |a |scrimmage |kick |it |is |first |touching |if |the |ball |is |
touched |by |any |K |player |in |the |field |of |play |and |beyond |the |expanded |neutral |zone |before |it |is |
touched |there |by |R |and |before |the |ball |has |come |to |rest.
Section |13 |Force |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-Force |is |the |result |of |energy |exerted |by |a |player |which |
provides |movement |of |the |ball. |The |term |force |is |used |only |in |connection |with |the |goal |line |and |in |
only |one |direction, |i.e., |from |the |field |of |play |into |the |end |zone. |Initial |force |results |from |a |carry, |
fumble, |kick, |pass |or |snap. |After |a |fumble, |kick |or |backward |pass |has |been |grounded, |a |new |force |