Verified Answers| 100% Correct| A Grade
B1 steps up to the plate and after hitting two balls over the fence in foul territory, F1
requests to intentionally walk B1.
The umpire allows B1 to be intentionally walked.
R1 is caught in a rundown between third base and home. As R1 is attempting to return to
third base, R1 is obstructed by F5 and subsequently tagged while off the base by F6. The
correct call is:
When a fielder obstructs a runner, the initial call is always a delayed dead ball. Once the
obstructed runner is put out, it becomes a dead ball and the umpires shall award R1 the base that
would have been reached had there been no obstruction.
After the lineup cards have been submitted to and verified by the plate umpire, the
opposing coach has a player arrive late and wants to add that player to the lineup.
The umpire will add the player to the lineup and shall issue a team warning to the head coach of
the team involved.
A1 is Team A's pitcher in the fourth inning. A11 is brought in as a relief pitcher in that
inning. Team A's coach wants to re-enter A1 in the fourth inning as the pitcher. The
correct call is:
This is a legal substitution with no warm-up pitches allowed.
The DP may be substituted for any time by:
-A legal substitute.
-The FLEX playing offense.
At the pregame conference, the home team coach informs the umpires that the fence in left
field is only 180 feet and balls hit over the fence will be a two-base award.
The umpires shall not permit a ground rule to supersede a rules book rule; any ball hit over the
fence is a home run.
A delayed dead-ball situation occurs when the umpire interferes with the catcher who is
attempting to throw a non-batted ball.
True
It is an illegal pitch if:
F1 is behind the pitcher's plate, takes the signal, steps on the pitcher's plate and immediately
brings the hands together.
,Which of the following is an infraction by the catcher:
The catcher throws the ball directly back to the pitcher after the pitch is delivered.
With R1 on first base and B2 at the plate with a 1 ball-1strike count, B2 moves to the front
of the batter's box. As B2 fakes a drag bunt, B2 withdraws the bat. and is struck by thee
pitch that is in front of the plate. In the umpire's judgement, the ball was prevented from
entering the strike zone. What is the correct ruling?
Umpire calls dead ball and declares B2 out.
As F1 starts the pitch, B1 requests time by stepping out of the box. The pitcher legally
delivers the ball. What is the correct ruling?
The pitch is called either a ball or strike depending upon the location of the pitch.
A run does not score if a preceding runner is declared the fourth out for missing a base,
and the defensive team selects that out to its advantage.
True
B1 hits a high fly ball down the line to right field. F9, with both feet clearly in fair territory,
reaches across the foul line in an attempt to catch the ball. While the ball is still in the air,
completely over foul ground, the ball deflects off F9's glove and lands in fair territory. The
correct call is:
Foul ball since the ball was over foul territory when first touched.
A coach will be restricted to dugout/bench for the remainder of the game for a second
violation of the following:
-Player or substitutes entering the game unreported.
-A second lineup correction.
-Team personnel using illegal equipment.
Team A's players are wearing red exposed upper-body undergarments but solid black
placards. F1 is wearing a placard on the non-pitching arm. F3, who is the team's backup
pitcher, is wearing a placard on the non-glove arm. Which statement is correct?
-This is legal, provided the placards are a solid color and not optic yellow.
-This is legal. Only F1 has the restriction on placement of the placard on the non-pitching arm. If
F3 were to become the pitcher then F3 would be required to move the placard to the non-pitching
arm.
With no outs, B1 hits a deep line drive. Sliding into second base safely, B1 dislodges the
base from its proper position. F4 tags B1 who is no longer in contact with the dislodged
base. What is the proper ruling?
B1 is not out; a runner is not required to follow a base that has become dislodged.
, The umpire notices that several players on Team A have adornments in their hair. Which
of the following are prohibited from being worn?
F3 has a bandanna as a hair covering, F4 is wearing a plastic visor.
Which of the following attire is not allowed to be worn in live-ball areas by coaches?
Cut-offs or any type of jeans.
Which of the flooring are true about a damaged bat?
-A damaged bat is removed from the game without penalty when initially detected.
-If a batter is discovered using a damaged bat that was previously removed from the game by an
umpire, that batter is called out.
-In addition to being called out for using a damaged bat that was previously removed from the
game by an umpire, the offender and head coach are restricted to the dugout for the remainder of
the game.
F1 is wearing an item on the pitching wrist that the umpire judges distracting. What is the
proper penalty?
The pitcher is required to remove the distracting item in order to continue to pitch.
B1 bunts the ball in front of home plate. As B1 is running to first base, B1 is hit with the
throw from F2. Which of the following is used in determining if the runner is out for
interference?
If either foot last contacted the ground completely outside of the 3-foot lane.
A fair ball is a batted ball that:
-Settles or is touched on or over fair territory between home and first base.
-Touches first base.
-While over fair territory, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player attempting to
field a batted ball.
B1 steps in the batter's box and the umpire immediately notices that the batter is wearing
jewelry. Which of the following is not allowed during play?
-Necklace.
-Small stud earrings.
-A standard watch.
-All of the above are legal to wear during play.
The umpire notices F6 is wearing a smartwatch on the playing field. Which of the following
is true?
Smartwatches are allowed as long as they are not used to communicate outside of the dugout.