2024 IHSA Baseball Rules Test with
correct answers
Team B wishes to pinch hit with a substitute player who is not listed on the
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
lineup card. What is the correct ruling?
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. Since the substitute is not on the lineup card, the substitution is not
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
allowed.
* B. During the pregame meeting, the plate umpire should encourage both
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
head coaches to list all eligible substitutes on the lineup card.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. The coach may substitute the player without penalty.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. B and C are correct. - correct answer ✔* D. B and C are correct.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
R3 is on 3rd base. The batter has a 3-2 count. The pitcher balks during his
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
windup but still delivers the pitch. The batter does not swing at the high
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
pitch, but the ball gets past the catcher and goes to the backstop. Which of
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
the following statements is correct?
|!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. R3 scores, and the batter advances to 1st base on ball 4. The batter-
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
runner continues to 2nd base on the passed ball.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* B. The ball is dead on the balk, R3 is awarded home, and the batter is
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
awarded 1st base on ball 4. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. The ball is dead on the balk, R3 is awarded home, and the batter
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
remains at bat with a 3-2 count. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. None of the above - correct answer ✔* C. The ball is dead on the balk,
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
R3 is awarded home, and the batter remains at bat with a 3-2 count.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
,The pitcher starts his delivery. The batter doesn't say anything, but he raises
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
his hand and steps out of the batter's box without being granted "Time".
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
What is the correct ruling? |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. The ball remains live, and the umpire calls the pitch a ball or strike
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
depending on the location of the pitch. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* B. The umpire must grant "Time" in this situation.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. If the pitcher delivers a legal pitch, the umpire shall call the pitch a strike
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
regardless of the pitch's location.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. The ball is dead since the batter requested "Time" before stepping out
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
of the batter's box. - correct answer ✔* C. If the pitcher delivers a legal pitch,
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
the umpire shall call the pitch a strike regardless of the pitch's location.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
A runner misses a base. Which of these statements is correct?
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. The defense may request a dead ball or live ball appeal to retire the
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
runner.
* B. The umpire who observed the runner miss the base should declare the
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
runner out at the conclusion of the play. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. If the runner's out is the result of a force play and is the third out of the
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
inning, no runs score on the play.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. A and C are correct. - correct answer ✔* D. A and C are correct.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
Which of the following is a true statement?|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. Either F1 or F2 can inform the umpire the team wants to intentionally
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
walk a batter. |!| |!|
* B. If a pitched ball strikes B1's cap that is sticking out of his back pocket, he
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
is awarded 1st base.
|!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. If the ball is dead because of an uncaught foul ball, a runner is not
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
required to retouch bases he touched during the play. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
, * D. None of the above - correct answer ✔* C. If the ball is dead because of
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
an uncaught foul ball, a runner is not required to retouch bases he touched
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
during the play. |!| |!|
At what point can an improper batter be replaced?
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. Before he has a ball or strike count.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* B. After he has hit a foul ball.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. After the count is 3-2
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. All of the above - correct answer ✔* D. All of the above
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
The batter hits a home run over the fence. After crossing home plate, he
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
removes his helmet on his way to the dugout. What is the correct ruling?
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. The batter is out.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* B. Team A receives an equipment warning.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. It is a dead ball situation, so there is no penalty.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. A and B are correct. - correct answer ✔* C. It is a dead ball situation, so
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
there is no penalty. |!| |!| |!|
F1 is in the set position. Half of his pivot foot is entirely in front of, in
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
contact with, and parallel to the pitcher's plate. F1's non-pivot foot is directly
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
in front of his pivot foot but is not within the edge of each end of the
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
rubber. What is the correct ruling? |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. His stance is legal.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* B. His entire pivot foot must be in contact with the rubber.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. His non-pivot foot must be within the edges of the rubber.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. His non-pivot foot should not be directly in front of his pivot foot. -
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
correct answer ✔* A. His stance is legal. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
correct answers
Team B wishes to pinch hit with a substitute player who is not listed on the
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
lineup card. What is the correct ruling?
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. Since the substitute is not on the lineup card, the substitution is not
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
allowed.
* B. During the pregame meeting, the plate umpire should encourage both
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
head coaches to list all eligible substitutes on the lineup card.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. The coach may substitute the player without penalty.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. B and C are correct. - correct answer ✔* D. B and C are correct.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
R3 is on 3rd base. The batter has a 3-2 count. The pitcher balks during his
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
windup but still delivers the pitch. The batter does not swing at the high
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
pitch, but the ball gets past the catcher and goes to the backstop. Which of
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
the following statements is correct?
|!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. R3 scores, and the batter advances to 1st base on ball 4. The batter-
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
runner continues to 2nd base on the passed ball.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* B. The ball is dead on the balk, R3 is awarded home, and the batter is
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
awarded 1st base on ball 4. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. The ball is dead on the balk, R3 is awarded home, and the batter
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
remains at bat with a 3-2 count. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. None of the above - correct answer ✔* C. The ball is dead on the balk,
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
R3 is awarded home, and the batter remains at bat with a 3-2 count.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
,The pitcher starts his delivery. The batter doesn't say anything, but he raises
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
his hand and steps out of the batter's box without being granted "Time".
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
What is the correct ruling? |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. The ball remains live, and the umpire calls the pitch a ball or strike
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
depending on the location of the pitch. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* B. The umpire must grant "Time" in this situation.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. If the pitcher delivers a legal pitch, the umpire shall call the pitch a strike
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
regardless of the pitch's location.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. The ball is dead since the batter requested "Time" before stepping out
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
of the batter's box. - correct answer ✔* C. If the pitcher delivers a legal pitch,
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
the umpire shall call the pitch a strike regardless of the pitch's location.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
A runner misses a base. Which of these statements is correct?
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. The defense may request a dead ball or live ball appeal to retire the
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
runner.
* B. The umpire who observed the runner miss the base should declare the
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
runner out at the conclusion of the play. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. If the runner's out is the result of a force play and is the third out of the
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
inning, no runs score on the play.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. A and C are correct. - correct answer ✔* D. A and C are correct.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
Which of the following is a true statement?|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. Either F1 or F2 can inform the umpire the team wants to intentionally
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
walk a batter. |!| |!|
* B. If a pitched ball strikes B1's cap that is sticking out of his back pocket, he
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
is awarded 1st base.
|!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. If the ball is dead because of an uncaught foul ball, a runner is not
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
required to retouch bases he touched during the play. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
, * D. None of the above - correct answer ✔* C. If the ball is dead because of
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
an uncaught foul ball, a runner is not required to retouch bases he touched
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
during the play. |!| |!|
At what point can an improper batter be replaced?
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. Before he has a ball or strike count.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* B. After he has hit a foul ball.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. After the count is 3-2
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. All of the above - correct answer ✔* D. All of the above
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
The batter hits a home run over the fence. After crossing home plate, he
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
removes his helmet on his way to the dugout. What is the correct ruling?
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. The batter is out.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* B. Team A receives an equipment warning.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. It is a dead ball situation, so there is no penalty.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. A and B are correct. - correct answer ✔* C. It is a dead ball situation, so
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
there is no penalty. |!| |!| |!|
F1 is in the set position. Half of his pivot foot is entirely in front of, in
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
contact with, and parallel to the pitcher's plate. F1's non-pivot foot is directly
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
in front of his pivot foot but is not within the edge of each end of the
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
rubber. What is the correct ruling? |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* A. His stance is legal.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* B. His entire pivot foot must be in contact with the rubber.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* C. His non-pivot foot must be within the edges of the rubber.
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
* D. His non-pivot foot should not be directly in front of his pivot foot. -
|!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|
correct answer ✔* A. His stance is legal. |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!| |!|