100% satisfaction guarantee Immediately available after payment Both online and in PDF No strings attached 4.2 TrustPilot
logo-home
Exam (elaborations)

NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 9 (Conduct of Players and Others)

Rating
-
Sold
-
Pages
24
Grade
A+
Uploaded on
29-08-2024
Written in
2024/2025

NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 9 (Conduct of Players and Others)

Institution
NFHS Football Case Plays -
Course
NFHS Football Case Plays -










Whoops! We can’t load your doc right now. Try again or contact support.

Written for

Institution
NFHS Football Case Plays -
Course
NFHS Football Case Plays -

Document information

Uploaded on
August 29, 2024
Number of pages
24
Written in
2024/2025
Type
Exam (elaborations)
Contains
Questions & answers

Subjects

Content preview

NFHS FOOTBALL CASE PLAYS - RULE 9
CONDUCT OF PLAYERS AND OTHERS
9.1 SITUATION:
j



With fourth and goal from B's 1-yard line, runner A1 is pushed at the line of scrimmage from behind by
A2 in an effort by A2 to get him into the end zone. - RULING: A2 has fouled by helping the runner. The
foul carries a 5-yard penalty. Therefore it will be fourth and goal from B's 6-yard line if the penalty is
accepted.

9.2.1 SITUATION A:

During a running play, blocker A1 has his hands cupped and together in front of his body with his elbows
outside his shoulders. As he approaches his opponent, he raises his hands and forearms perpendicular to
the ground to contact his opponent. - RULING: If the blocker's palms are facing the opponent, or if his
forearms are extended more than 45 degrees from his body, the hands must be open at and during
contact. (2-3-2)

9.2.1 SITUATION B:

Blocker A1 has his hands and arms in legal position with the elbows outside the body and:

(a) when B1 attempts to penetrate his block in an upright position, he contacts B1 above the shoulders
with his forearm; or(b) as B2 ducks or submarines, A1 contacts him above the shoulder with his cupped
hands. - RULING: In (a), it is an illegal blocking technique because contact was made above the defensive
player's shoulders while he was in a normal upright position. In (b), the responsibility for the contact on
the head of B2 is that of B2, because he has taken evasive action to avoid the block. It is assumed
contact by A1 in (b) does not violate the provision of striking or contacting above the shoulders. (2-3-2)

9.2.1 SITUATION C:

During a scrimmage down, blocker A1 contacts B1 with open hands: (a) while his forearms are extended
more than 45 degrees from his body and the palms of his hands are toward the defender; or (b) in a
pushing action when extending his arms beyond 45 degrees from his body. - RULING: It is a legal blocking
technique in both (a) or (b). (2-3-2)

9.2.1 SITUATION D:

Lineman A1 and B1 are both inside the free-blocking zone at the snap. Before the zone disintegrates, A1
blocks B1 with open hands from behind pushing B1 with his arms fully extended. - RULING: Legal block.
(2-17-3)

9.2.1 SITUATION E:

In blocking B1, A1's forearms are almost fully extended from his body and he contacts B1 with the side of
his closed hands. The palms of A1's hands are not directly facing B1. - RULING: An illegal blocking

,technique by A1. The hands may not be closed or cupped when the arms are extended more than 45
degrees from the blocker's body. (2-3-2)

9.2.1 SITUATION F:

A1 is blocking with open hands: (a) outside his own frame; or (b) outside B1's frame, during contact. -
RULING: A1 is using an illegal blocking technique in both (a) and (b). When the hands are outside the
frame, as described above and grasps the opponent or his equipment, it is a holding foul instead of
illegal use of hands.

9.2.1 SITUATION G:

A1 makes legal contact on B1's chest using extended arms with open hands. B1 spins in an effort to
evade A1 and get to the passer. A1 effectively maintains contact while shifting his hands to B1's upper
arm and then directly on his back as B1 turns. A1 continues the contact and finishes the block by forcing
B1 beyond the passer. - RULING: The described blocking technique is legal.

COMMENT: In order to legally contact the back of the opponent in this situation it must either be a
continuation of contact that was legal originally, or because the opponent turned so quickly the blocker
could not stop his charge in time to avoid contact on the back. When the extended-arms technique is
used, the hands must be open on contact and remain open during the contact. The open-hand blocking
technique may be used in any situation where blocking is legal for A.

9.2.1 SITUATION H:

A1 throws a forward pass beyond the neutral zone which is touched by eligible A2 and is muffed high
into the air. While the muffed ball is in the air:

(a) ineligible A3 blocks B1 away from the ball, or(b) ineligible A3 touches the ball in an attempt to catch
it. - RULING: Legal action in (a), but illegal touching in (b). After A2 touches the ball, eligible offensive
team players may use hands or arms. Pass interference restrictions for eligibles have ended. However, an
ineligible Team A player may not touch the pass until after a Team B player has touched it. The
ineligibles, however, may block an opponent to keep him from getting to the ball or to help a teammate
secure possession. (2-3-4c, 7-5-9b, 7-5-13)

9.2.1 SITUATION I:

K is attempting a try by kick. After the ball is snapped, the offensive guards and tackles each grab the
jersey of an adjacent teammate. The kick by K1 is successful. - RULING: Grabbing the jersey of an
offensive teammate is considered to be the same as grasping the teammate and it is interlocked
blocking, which is a form of illegal use of hands and carries a 10-yard penalty. Any time offensive players
grasp teammates in this manner, it would have to be considered interlocked blocking whether they grab
each other at the shoulders, arms, legs, ankles, etc.

9.2.1 SITUATION J:

On a successful try for point by kick, the interior linemen of K all reached across and grasped the
teammate immediately to their inside after the snap. - RULING: Interlocked blocking, 10-yard penalty
from the spot of the foul since this spot is probably behind the basic spot.

, 9.2.3 SITUATION A:

End A1 sprints from the line and then cuts sharply toward the middle of the field. A1 makes no attempt
to block defensive back B1. B1 pursues A1 and pushes him from the side using his open hands. Contact is
made on A1's upper arm before the pass is thrown. A1 was moving away from B1 when the contact
occurred. - RULING: Illegal use of hands by B1. A defender may legally contact an eligible receiver beyond
the neutral zone before the pass is in flight provided the receiver is a potential blocker. The contact may
be a block or warding off the opponent who is attempting to block by pushing or pulling him. However, if
the receiver is not attempting to block or has gone past the yard line occupied by the defender or is
moving away, it is illegal for the defender to use hands in the manner described. In this situation, it is
clear that A1 is no longer a potential blocker on B1. (2-3-5a, 7-5-7)

9.2.3 SITUATION B:

As the offensive linemen charge on the snap of the ball, B1:

(a) grasps guard A1 by the jersey and controls him until he sees where the ball is going; or(b) slaps A1 on
the side of the helmet with an open hand and forces his head to the side with what is commonly called
the "bell ringer;" or(c) contacts A1 with one hand on his shoulder pad and the other hand on his helmet
in fighting off the block; or(d) pulls A1's shoulders to one side and charges through in an effort to get to
the runner; or(e) pulls A1's shoulders to one side so B2 may charge through to the runner. - RULING: It is
holding in (a), which will result in a 10-yard penalty administered in accordance with the all-but-one
principle, if accepted. In (b), it is illegal personal contact, and (e), it is illegal use of hands by B1, which
also carries a 10-yard penalty. The action by B1 in (c) and (d) is legal.

9.2.3 SITUATION C:

Quarterback A1 drops back 15 yards and throws a legal forward pass intended for A2, who is 5 yards
behind the neutral zone. Before the pass reaches A2:

(a) B1 tackles A2; or(b) B1 blocks A2. - RULING: In (a), tackling A2 is a foul, as it is a form of holding.
Defensive players are prohibited from grasping an opponent other than the runner. The foul in (a) occurs
during a loose-ball play, and the 10-yard penalty will be administered from the previous spot. In (b), the
contact by B1 is not pass interference and, if the block itself is legal, there is no infraction. (7-5-10)

9.3.2 SITUATION A:

During a running play to the left, lineman A1, who was in the free-blocking zone, crosses through the
zone and blocks B1 from the side below the waist, and away from the spot of the snap, as the lead
blocker for a reverse. B1 was also in the zone at the snap. - RULING: Illegal block by A1 because the block
was below the waist outside the free-blocking zone. (2-17-2)

9.3.2 SITUATION B:

A1 and A2 combine in blocking B1 as follows: (a) both block B1 downfield with A1 making contact above
the waist and A2 simultaneously making contact below the waist but above the knees; or (b) both block
B1 in the free-blocking zone with A1's block above the waist and A2's block at the knees or below; or (c)
A1 blocks B1 above the waist and at the same time or thereafter, A2 blocks B1 below the waist and
above the knees; or (d) both A1 and A2 block B1 below the knees from the front of B1 while in the free-

Get to know the seller

Seller avatar
Reputation scores are based on the amount of documents a seller has sold for a fee and the reviews they have received for those documents. There are three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. The better the reputation, the more your can rely on the quality of the sellers work.
EXAMACCURACY NURSING
View profile
Follow You need to be logged in order to follow users or courses
Sold
128
Member since
1 year
Number of followers
11
Documents
6772
Last sold
1 month ago
COMPLETE VICTORY

OUR MATERIALS REFLECT THE LATEST EXAM FORMATS & CONTENT WITH DETAILED EXPLANATION TO HELP YOU GRASP CHALLENGING CONCEPTS ... TEST YOUR KNOWLEDGE WITH OUR PRACTICE EXAMS DESIGNED TO SIMULATE THE REAL TEST EXPERIENCE ... I ASSURE GOOD GRADE IF YOU USE MY WORK...

3.5

15 reviews

5
7
4
1
3
2
2
2
1
3

Recently viewed by you

Why students choose Stuvia

Created by fellow students, verified by reviews

Quality you can trust: written by students who passed their tests and reviewed by others who've used these notes.

Didn't get what you expected? Choose another document

No worries! You can instantly pick a different document that better fits what you're looking for.

Pay as you like, start learning right away

No subscription, no commitments. Pay the way you're used to via credit card and download your PDF document instantly.

Student with book image

“Bought, downloaded, and aced it. It really can be that simple.”

Alisha Student

Frequently asked questions