PRO TOOLS 210M V12 PRACTICE SOLUTION
TESTED QUESTIONS WITH COMPLETE
ANSWERS
●● What is the difference between opening the MIDI Editor from the
View menu (View > Other Displays > MIDI Editor) and opening it from
the Window menu (Window > MIDI Editor)?
Answer: Opening from the View menu creates a docked MIDI Editor
that is displayed at the bottom of the Edit window and opening from the
Window menu creates a free-standing MIDI Editor window
●● How can you set which MIDI track is affected by the Pencil Tool in a
MIDI Editor?
Answer: By clicking in the pencil column in the tracks list
●● How would you go about displaying the automation parameters for a
virtual instrument on an Aux Input track in a MIDI Editor window
(assuming the plug-in parameters are enabled for automation)?
Answer: In the MIDI Editor window, use the Show/Hide Controller
lanes, Add/Remove Lanes or the Lane View Selector located underneath
the mini keyboard roll.
●● What two ways can Edit tools be displayed in the toolbar of a MIDI
Editor window? How can you switch between display modes?
, Answer: The Edit Tools can be displayed in either Condensed or
Expanded modes. To switch between display modes, select Expanded
Edit Tools in the MIDI Editor window drop-down menu located in the
upper right-hand corner of the window.
●● What are some differences between Targeted and un‐Targeted MIDI
Editor windows?
Answer: Only one MIDI Editor window can be targeted at a time. Un-
targeted windows will be left open and available. Targeting an un-
targeted window disables any other currently targeted windows. The
front-most window, regardless of if it is targeted or not, receives
Commands Keyboards Focus mode shortcuts and control surface
commands.
●● What are the two views available for displaying tracks in the notes
pane of the MIDI Editor?
Answer: The two views available for displaying tracks in the notes pane
of the MIDI Editor are the Piano Roll view and the Notation view.
●● What color-coding options are available for notes in a MIDI Editor?
Answer: You can color-code your notes by clip color(same as clips in the
Edit window), by track(in the MIDI Editor Track List) or by
velocity(higher velocity notes have a darker shade of a color and lighter
velocity notes have a lighter shade of the same color.
TESTED QUESTIONS WITH COMPLETE
ANSWERS
●● What is the difference between opening the MIDI Editor from the
View menu (View > Other Displays > MIDI Editor) and opening it from
the Window menu (Window > MIDI Editor)?
Answer: Opening from the View menu creates a docked MIDI Editor
that is displayed at the bottom of the Edit window and opening from the
Window menu creates a free-standing MIDI Editor window
●● How can you set which MIDI track is affected by the Pencil Tool in a
MIDI Editor?
Answer: By clicking in the pencil column in the tracks list
●● How would you go about displaying the automation parameters for a
virtual instrument on an Aux Input track in a MIDI Editor window
(assuming the plug-in parameters are enabled for automation)?
Answer: In the MIDI Editor window, use the Show/Hide Controller
lanes, Add/Remove Lanes or the Lane View Selector located underneath
the mini keyboard roll.
●● What two ways can Edit tools be displayed in the toolbar of a MIDI
Editor window? How can you switch between display modes?
, Answer: The Edit Tools can be displayed in either Condensed or
Expanded modes. To switch between display modes, select Expanded
Edit Tools in the MIDI Editor window drop-down menu located in the
upper right-hand corner of the window.
●● What are some differences between Targeted and un‐Targeted MIDI
Editor windows?
Answer: Only one MIDI Editor window can be targeted at a time. Un-
targeted windows will be left open and available. Targeting an un-
targeted window disables any other currently targeted windows. The
front-most window, regardless of if it is targeted or not, receives
Commands Keyboards Focus mode shortcuts and control surface
commands.
●● What are the two views available for displaying tracks in the notes
pane of the MIDI Editor?
Answer: The two views available for displaying tracks in the notes pane
of the MIDI Editor are the Piano Roll view and the Notation view.
●● What color-coding options are available for notes in a MIDI Editor?
Answer: You can color-code your notes by clip color(same as clips in the
Edit window), by track(in the MIDI Editor Track List) or by
velocity(higher velocity notes have a darker shade of a color and lighter
velocity notes have a lighter shade of the same color.