• ¿Documento equivocado? Cámbialo gratis
  • Escrito por estudiantes que aprobaron
  • Inmediatamente disponible después del pago
  • Leer en línea o como PDF
Vender
¿Dónde estudias?
Tu idioma
Document preview thumbnail
Vista previa 3 fuera de 25 páginas
Otro

NJ Permit Test Study Guide latest update (verified)

Document preview thumbnail
Vista previa 3 fuera de 25 páginas

NJ Permit Test Study Guide latest update (verified) I. The New Jersey Driver License System A. Laws Governing Driver Licenses 1. A motorist who operates a motor vehicle in the state of New Jersey must carry a valid driver's license, a valid probationary license or a validated New Jersey permit. The motors must also carry valid insurance and vehicle registration cards. 2. A motorist with a validated New Jersey driver permit must be accompanied by an appropriately licensed driver. a) Has had license for 3 years b) Over 21 c) Have a NJ license 3. A motorist who changes addresses must report this change to the MVC within one week after moving. This includes individuals who are moving out of New Jersey. (1 week= 1 home) 4. A motorist who legally changes his/her name must report to change the MVC within two weeks.[2 names (first/last) = 2 weeks] 5. A motorist with a valid out-of-state license who moves to New Jersey must apply for a New Jersey license within 60 days. 6. Individuals who have never had a driver’s license must complete the MVC is graduated driver license (GDL) program, which introduces driving privileges in phases with a period of supervised driving before getting a basic driver's license. 7. Drivers under age 21 who possesses an examination permit or a probationary license shall not operate a motor vehicle without displaying to visible reflective GDL decals, which are provided by the motor vehicle commission, on the license plates of the vehicle. B. Digital Driver License ..............................................continued...................................................

Vista previa del contenido

1


NJ Permit Test Study Guide latest update (verified)



I. The New Jersey Driver License System
A. Laws Governing Driver Licenses
1. A motorist who operates a motor vehicle in the state of New Jersey must
carry a valid driver's license, a valid probationary license or a validated
New Jersey permit. The motors must also carry valid insurance and
vehicle registration cards.
2. A motorist with a validated New Jersey driver permit must be
accompanied by an appropriately licensed driver.
a) Has had license for 3 years
b) Over 21
c) Have a NJ license
3. A motorist who changes addresses must report this change to the MVC
within one week after moving. This includes individuals who are moving
out of New Jersey. (1 week= 1 home)
4. A motorist who legally changes his/her name must report to change the
MVC within two weeks.[2 names (first/last) = 2 weeks]
5. A motorist with a valid out-of-state license who moves to New Jersey
must apply for a New Jersey license within 60 days.
6. Individuals who have never had a driver’s license must complete the MVC
is graduated driver license (GDL) program, which introduces driving
privileges in phases with a period of supervised driving before getting a
basic driver's license.
7. Drivers under age 21 who possesses an examination permit or a
probationary license shall not operate a motor vehicle without displaying
to visible reflective GDL decals, which are provided by the motor vehicle
commission, on the license plates of the vehicle.
B. Digital Driver License
1. An altered driver's license may result in the loss of a motorist’s driving
privilege, a fine up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment. Additionally,
obtaining a driver's license illegally they result in a fine of up to $500
and/or imprisonment.
C. Types of NJ Licenses
1. Basic Automobile License- Class D
2. Probationary Automobile License- Class D (one year)
3. Commercial Driver License- Classes A, B, and C
4. Motorcycle License- Class E(17) or Class M(18)
D. Graduated Driver License (GDL)

, 2


1. GDL restrictions placed upon first-time drivers may be strictly adhered to.
Failure to do so may result in a fine of $100 or suspension of a motorist’s
driving privilege.
E. GDL Decal
1. All GDL drivers under age 21, who possesses a permit or probationary
license, are required to display two visible, red reflective decals. On the
top left corner of the rear license plate and front license plate.
F. GDL Driver Exemptions
1. For an exemption, the motorist must carry a legible certification to
indicate this need from his/her employer or religious official on the
official letterhead of the business, organization or religious institution,
with the signature of the certifying official and his/her name, title, address,
and phone number.
G. Special Learner Permits for New Jersey Residents
1. Must be 16 years old
2. Must be enrolled in a behind-the-wheel driver training course approved by
the New Jersey Department of education or conducted by a commercial
driving school.
H. Next-Of-Kin Registry (Sara’s Law)
1. The Next-Of-Kin Registry is a New Jersey statewide web based system
that allows individuals at least 14 years of age to voluntarily submit and
maintain emergency contact information through the New Jersey Motor
Vehicle Commission. This non-public information will only be used by
law enforcement officers to locate designated emergency contacts in the
event that a person is involved in a motor vehicle crash that renders him or
her unable to communicate.
I. Commercial Driver License (CDL)
1. There are three Commercial Driver License (CDL) classifications: A, B,
and C. However, no one can apply for these licenses until he/she is in
possession of a valid basic Class D New Jersey driver license or he/she
possesses a valid out-of-state CDL.
II. New Jersey Driver Testing
A. Requirements for a Basic Driver License
1. 6 point ID verification, vision test, knowledge test, road test
B. Nikhil’s Law
1. Stop completely, stay alert, talk safe, plan ahead.
C. Road Test Checklist

, 3


1. A vehicle utilized for the road test must have unobstructed access to the
foot break or to the parking brake mounted to the right of the driver in a
position accessible to the examiner.
D. Reasons For Rejection
1. Missing seat belts, tinting on driver and/or front door windows, and
broken or cracked window glass
III. Driver Responsibility
A. Buckle up-New Jersey’s Seat Belt Law
1. Under state law, the driver and all passengers of a passenger vehicle must
wear a seatbelt. The failure of a driver, front-seat passenger and children
under age 18 to wear a seatbelt is a primary offense. The driver is
responsible for all passengers under age 18. Front-seat passengers 18 years
of age and over our responsible for themselves. A police officer can stop a
motor is solely for a violation of the seatbelt law. Under a secondary law,
all unbuckled backseat occupants 18 years of age and older may be issued
a summons if the vehicle is stopped for another reason. Motorists with
GDL permit or probationary license must use seat belts. Additionally, they
must require all passengers seated anywhere in the vehicle to use seat
belts.
2. Seat belts can save a life and improve a motorist’s chances of surviving a
crash by 60 percent.
3. Seat belts help in many ways, for example:
a) They keep motorists and passengers from being thrown from the
vehicle in a crash. If a motorist/passenger is held in place, any
injury may be less severe.
b) They slow a body down with the vehicle. If a vehicle hits
something, the vehicle stops, but the person keeps going at the
same speed that the vehicle was moving. Hitting the dashboard or
windshield at 30 mph is like falling from the top of a three-story
building.
c) They keep a motorist/passenger from sliding on the seat during
sudden stops and turns. Belts and straps also keep a motorist in
position so he/she can control the vehicle.
B. Car Seats
1. An infant seat must never be faced forward.
C. Child Passenger Safety Law
1. Children under age eight who are less than 57 inches (4 feet, 9 inches) tall
must ride in either:

Información del documento

Subido en
13 de junio de 2024
Número de páginas
25
Escrito en
2023/2024
Tipo
Otro
Personaje
Desconocido
$8.59

¿Documento equivocado? Cámbialo gratis Dentro de los 14 días posteriores a la compra y antes de descargarlo, puedes elegir otro documento. Puedes gastar el importe de nuevo.
Escrito por estudiantes que aprobaron
Inmediatamente disponible después del pago
Leer en línea o como PDF

Seller avatar
Los indicadores de reputación están sujetos a la cantidad de artículos vendidos por una tarifa y las reseñas que ha recibido por esos documentos. Hay tres niveles: Bronce, Plata y Oro. Cuanto mayor reputación, más podrás confiar en la calidad del trabajo del vendedor.
docguru
3.5
(50)
Vendido
290
Seguidores
258
Artículos
2191
Última venta
2 meses hace



Por qué los estudiantes eligen Stuvia

Creado por compañeros estudiantes, verificado por reseñas

Calidad en la que puedes confiar: escrito por estudiantes que aprobaron y evaluado por otros que han usado estos resúmenes.

¿No estás satisfecho? Elige otro documento

¡No te preocupes! Puedes elegir directamente otro documento que se ajuste mejor a lo que buscas.

Paga como quieras, empieza a estudiar al instante

Sin suscripción, sin compromisos. Paga como estés acostumbrado con tarjeta de crédito y descarga tu documento PDF inmediatamente.

Student with book image

“Comprado, descargado y aprobado. Así de fácil puede ser.”

Alisha Student

Preguntas frecuentes