WITH 100% CORRECT ANSWERS
Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat:
A) That can be either physical or verbal and interferes with, obstructs, impedes,
hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play.
B) That created malicious contact with any fielder regardless of whether the
fielder had the ball or was in or out of the baseline.
C) When a coach physically assists a runner during playing action.
D) A, B and C.
D) A, B and C
With R2 on second base, B3 swings and misses the pitch for strike two. His
follow-through hits F2 while he is attempting to throw out R2, who successfully
steals third base.
A) There is no interference, the play stands.
B) This is follow-through interference; R2 is declared out.
C) This is follow-through interference; both R2 and B3 are declared out.
D) This is follow-through interference, B3 is declared out and R2 is returned to
second base.
D) This is follow-through interference, B3 is declared out and R2 is returned to second
base.
The base umpire has the primary responsibility for the interference call at second
base in a double play situation, second to first.
A) True
B) False
B) False
F4, for whom the DH is batting, pinch hits or pinch runs for the DH.
A) The DH position is eliminated for the remainder of the game.
B) The starting DH can re-enter as a player but not in the role of the DH.
C) If the starting DH re-enters it must be in the same position in the batting order.
D) All the above
D) All the above
Pitcher throws a 58ft curve ball. The batter checks his swing as the pitch bounces
in front of the plate. The ball bounces and barely clips the bat and slightly rises
into the air and then comes back down. The catcher sticks out his glove and
catches the ball and returns it to the pitcher.
A) Since the ball bounced before being hit, the ball cannot be legally caught by
the catcher.
B) This is a foul tip. A strike is called on the batter.
C) This is a catch. The batter is out.
D) This is a foul ball.
C) This is a catch. The batter is out.
Runner on first is attempting to steal second base. The batter swings late for
strike one and steps into the catcher who is still able to make the throw. The
, runner on first is initially safe at second but slides past the bag and is
subsequently tagged out.
A) Since there was no out initially, the batter is out and the runner is out on the
subsequent play.
B) Since there was no out initially, the runner returns to first base and the batter
is out.
C) The runner was retired on the catcher's initial throw. The play stands and the
interference is ignored.
D) The umpire is to declare the ball dead immediately at the time of the
interference.
C) The runner was retired on the catcher's initial throw. The play stands and the
interference is ignored.
Obstruction of a batter is ignored if:
A) The batter-runner reaches first base.
B) All other runners advance at least one base.
C) Both A and B.
D) Obstruction of a batter can never be ignored.
C) Both A and B.
In the sixth inning, an eligible player arrives and the visiting coach wants to
substitute him in the lineup for the injured player and return his team to nine
players.
A) This is permissible.
B) A team that must play with eight players may not return to nine players.
C) A team playing with eight players may return to nine if the player coming in to
substitute is listed on the lineup card as a possible substitute.
D) A team may return to nine players provided the opposing coach agrees to the
substitution.
A) This is permissible.
At the pregame conference, the plate umpire asks both head coaches if they have
listed all their substitutes on the lineup card. The visiting team's head coach
states he did not have time, but will provide them as the game progresses. The
plate umpire will:
A) Start the game and tell the coach he may add the substitutes as he gets time
during the game.
B) Inform the visiting team's head coach that there will be no substitutions
allowed for his team in the game.
C) Not accept the team's lineup card until all substitutes are listed. The game
cannot begin until the umpire has received lineup cards from both teams.
D) Inform the head coach that as a penalty for not having his lineup card correct,
he may not occupy a coaching box for the balance of the game.
C) Not accept the team's lineup card until all substitutes are listed. The game cannot
begin until the umpire has received lineup cards from both teams
The base umpire declares "foul" on a fly ball that is caught by the right fielder in
fair ground and thrown to second to double up the runner who left the base too
soon.
A) It is a foul ball and the ball is immediately dead.