IHSA Basketball Test
A player dribbling the basketball is considered to have obtained frontcourt status from
the backcourt once: - ANS
R
A player from Team A has the ball in the backcourt. He/she/they throws a pass to the
E
front court. The ball hits a Team B player in the back and returns to the backcourt
towards Player A. What rights does the player from Team A have regarding the ball in
the backcourt? - ANS
H
A throw in after a goal or an awarded goal for basket interference or goaltending by a
G
defense player shall be made by - ANS
I
A traveling violation occurs if A12, while holding the ball and not moving the pivot foot,
touches the floor with which of the following? - ANS
H
A1 commits a foul prior to the release of A2's try, which goes through the basket. Where
G
is the throw-in? - ANS
A1 is awarded two free throws. After a timeout, Team A is slow in returning to the floor.
N
Team B has filled the proper spaces on the lane lines. The officials are ready to resume
I
play and place the ball at the disposal of the free thrower by placing the ball on the floor
at the free throw line. What can Team A legally do - ANS
Y
A1 is fouled on an unsuccessful two-point shot attempt. A1 is injured on the play and
L
cannot shoot the free throws. Team A has seven eligible players on the bench. A1's free
throws must be shot by: - ANS any player from Team A who is selected by the
F
Head Coach of Team A.
A1 is fouled on an unsuccessful two-point try. A1 then directs profanity at B1 and is
assessed a technical foul. How are the penalties for these fouls assessed? - ANS
Since both fouls are two shot fouls, the penalties offset, and no free throws are shot.
Team A is then awarded the ball because the ball was in their possession at the point of
interruption.
A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the
ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 then lands out of bounds and
returns to the court. Which of the following is a violation on A1? - ANS
, 2
A1, while being defended, is driving from near the free-throw line extended toward the
end line. A1 continues toward the end line and pulls up and goes airborne just before
the boundary line with his/her/their momentum carrying him/her/they out of bounds. Just
as A1 goes airborne, he/she/they passes off to a teammate across the lane and then A1
lands out of bounds. What is the correct ruling? - ANS
R
A3 has the ball in the front-court. A3's pass is deflected by B4 and the ball is caught
E
before the ball returns to the floor by A1, who is standing in the back-court. What is the
ruling? - ANS
H
A4 drives to the basket. B3 who has established legal guarding position in A4's path
jumps straight up with both arms vertical over their head. After B3 is in the air, A4 goes
G
to the basket, leaves his feet, and hits B3 in the chest, knocking him to the floor. After
contact, A4 releases shot and it passes through the basket. - ANS This a player
I
control foul on A4, and the basket does not count.
H
A4 is disqualified after receiving his/her fifth foul. The coach of Team A does not have a
substitute ready to enter the game after the permitted 15 seconds. What is the penalty?
G
- ANS The coach of Team A is assessed a direct technical foul.
After the free thrower releases the ball, which of the following may occur? - ANS
N
the free thrower may enter the lane
I
An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: - ANS simultaneous floor or
free-throw violations occur
LY
B1 is assessed a technical foul. A6 is on the bench for Team A. The Head Coach from
Team A would like to have A6 enter the game and shoot the free throws for the
F
technical foul. Which of the following best describes what can happen? - ANS A6
may enter the game to shoot the free throws, but Team A must call a timeout to allow
A6 to legally enter the game.
Being granted a timeout in excess of the allotted timeouts by rule counts against the
offending team in what manner? - ANS
By definition, illegal personal contact with an opponent which interferes with his/her
freedom of movement is considered: - ANS Holding