NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 4 (Ball in play, dead ball, and out of bounds)
4.1.5 SITUATION: A forward pass strikes: (a) a game official standing inbounds, after which it rebounds into the air and is caught by A1 or B1; or (b) a dog or a spectator inbounds. - Answer- RULING: In (a), A1 or B1 has caught a live ball. Nothing has occurred to cause the ball to become dead. In (b), the ball becomes dead immediately and is administered under the provisions of the inadvertent-whistle rule with a replay of the down. (4-2-2e, 4-2-3a) 4.2.2 SITUATION A: K1 has one knee on the ground to hold for an apparent field-goal attempt. K2 is in position to kick. K1 catches the snap and: (a) places the ball which is kicked by K2; or(b) rises and either runs or passes; or(c) without rising, flips the ball to K2 who attempts to run. - Answer- RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). In (c), the ball becomes dead immediately when K1 tosses it to K2 while K1 has his knee on the ground. (4-2-2a Exception) 4.2.2 SITUATION B: During a try K1, who is apparently a place-kick holder, receives the snap with one knee on the ground and places the ball for a kick. Just as K2 comes forward to kick the ball, K1 lifts the ball, rises and: (a) throws a forward pass to K3 in the end zone; or(b) carries the ball into the end zone; or(c) starts to run, fumbles and the ball is recovered by K4 who advances into the end zone; or(d) fumbles and it is recovered by R1; or(e) takes several steps and then drops to one knee to place it for a kick. - Answer- RULING: Successful try in (a), (b) and (c). The ball remains live and may be advanced since the place-kick holder had his knee in contact with the ground at the time of the snap and a teammate was in position to kick. In (d), the try ended with the recovery and R1 may not advance. In (e), the ball is dead immediately when K1's knee touches the ground after rising with the ball in his possession. (4-2-2a) 4.2.2 SITUATION C: At the snap, K1 is in position to kick and K2 is in position to hold for a place kick with one knee on the ground. The snap is high or bounces once and it is necessary for K2 to lift his knee off the ground in order to catch or recover the ball. K2 catches the snap and: (a) immediately drops to one knee and places the ball for a kick; or(b) immediately drops to his knees and then rises and passes the ball; or(c) takes several steps and then drops to his knees to place the ball; or(d) takes several steps and fumbles the ball which is subsequently recovered and advanced by K1 or K2. - Answer- RULING: The ball remains live in (a), (b) and (d). In (c), the ball is dead when K2's knee touches the ground, because he did not go back down immediately after catching or recovering the errant snap. In (d), the advance by K1 or K2 is legal. (4-2-2a Exception)
Geschreven voor
- Instelling
- NFHS
- Vak
- NFHS
Documentinformatie
- Geüpload op
- 21 juli 2023
- Aantal pagina's
- 5
- Geschreven in
- 2022/2023
- Type
- Tentamen (uitwerkingen)
- Bevat
- Vragen en antwoorden
Onderwerpen
-
during a try k1
-
nfhs football case plays rule 4 ball in play
-
d
-
a forward pass strikes a a game official standi
-
k1 has one knee on the ground to hold for an appar
-
who is apparently a place kick