NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 2 (Definitions of Playing Terms) Questions and Answers
NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 2
(Definitions of Playing Terms) Questions
and Answers
Question 1
8 SITUATION A:
After the ball is marked ready for play for a scrimmage down:
(a) B1 enters the neutral zone to give defensive signals; or
(b) B2, the nose guard, places his hand on the ground so that it is in contact with the
ball.
After the ready-for-play signal and the snapper places hand(s) on the ball:
(c) A1 or B3 break the plane of the neutral zone; or
(d) B1 is conferring with his coach and is on A's side of the neutral zone.
Correct Answer
RULING: Encroachment in (a), (b), (c) and (d). Whenever a player is illegally in the
neutral zone, it is encroachment. (7-1, 7-2)
Question 2
8 SITUATION B:
After the ball is marked ready for play for a free kick, but before it is kicked:
(a) place-kick holder K1 kneels so one leg and part of his body are beyond K's free-
kick line; or
(b) K2 who is near the kicker or the place-kick holder is beyond K's free-kick line
before the ball is kicked.
Correct Answer
RULING: In (a), it is permissible for the place-kick holder or the kicker to be beyond
the free-kick line prior to the time the ball is kicked. In (b), it is encroachment for
any other player to be beyond his free-kick line prior to the time the ball is kicked.
Page 1 of 12
, NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 2 (Definitions of Playing Terms) Questions and Answers
Question 3
8 SITUATION C:
Following the ready-for-play signal, but before the free kick:
(a) R1 advances to block the kicker/holder and is beyond the plane of R's free-kick
line before the ball is kicked; or(b) R has only four players within 5 yards of its free-
kick line; or
(c) R2, who is one of several R players within 5 yards of his free-kick line, retreats from
this area prior to the time the ball is kicked.
Correct Answer
RULING: In (a), it is encroachment. The covering official will sound his whistle to
prevent the ball from being kicked when encroachment occurs. In (b) and (c), the
action is legal, as there is no requirement for positioning of R players on their side
of the neutral zone.
Question 4
15.2 SITUATION:
It is first and 10 for A at B's 12-yard line. A1 sprints near the end line and then
buttonhooks. He jumps and possesses a forward pass while in the air above the end
zone.
(a) A1's momentum carries him back into the field of play and he lands and is downed
on the 1-yard line; or(b) while in the air in the end zone, he is contacted by B1 and he
is carried out of the end zone and downed on B's 2-yard line.
Correct Answer
RULING: In (a), it is A's ball first and goal at B's 1-yard line. In (b), it is a touchdown
because A1 was contacted in the end zone. (2-4-1)
Question 5
17.2 SITUATION A:
A1 is legally in motion at the snap: (a) within the free-blocking zone, or (b) outside the
free-blocking zone. In (a), A1 blocks B1 below the waist within the free-blocking zone.
In (b), A1 comes into the free-blocking zone and blocks B1 above the waist and in the
back.
Correct Answer
RULING: It is an illegal block in both (a) and (b). In (a), this is blocking below the
waist and in (b) it is blocking in the back. The offensive blocker must be on the line
of scrimmage at the snap to be able to legally block below the waist. (2-17-3, 9-3-2,
9-3-5 PENALTY)
Page 2 of 12
NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 2
(Definitions of Playing Terms) Questions
and Answers
Question 1
8 SITUATION A:
After the ball is marked ready for play for a scrimmage down:
(a) B1 enters the neutral zone to give defensive signals; or
(b) B2, the nose guard, places his hand on the ground so that it is in contact with the
ball.
After the ready-for-play signal and the snapper places hand(s) on the ball:
(c) A1 or B3 break the plane of the neutral zone; or
(d) B1 is conferring with his coach and is on A's side of the neutral zone.
Correct Answer
RULING: Encroachment in (a), (b), (c) and (d). Whenever a player is illegally in the
neutral zone, it is encroachment. (7-1, 7-2)
Question 2
8 SITUATION B:
After the ball is marked ready for play for a free kick, but before it is kicked:
(a) place-kick holder K1 kneels so one leg and part of his body are beyond K's free-
kick line; or
(b) K2 who is near the kicker or the place-kick holder is beyond K's free-kick line
before the ball is kicked.
Correct Answer
RULING: In (a), it is permissible for the place-kick holder or the kicker to be beyond
the free-kick line prior to the time the ball is kicked. In (b), it is encroachment for
any other player to be beyond his free-kick line prior to the time the ball is kicked.
Page 1 of 12
, NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 2 (Definitions of Playing Terms) Questions and Answers
Question 3
8 SITUATION C:
Following the ready-for-play signal, but before the free kick:
(a) R1 advances to block the kicker/holder and is beyond the plane of R's free-kick
line before the ball is kicked; or(b) R has only four players within 5 yards of its free-
kick line; or
(c) R2, who is one of several R players within 5 yards of his free-kick line, retreats from
this area prior to the time the ball is kicked.
Correct Answer
RULING: In (a), it is encroachment. The covering official will sound his whistle to
prevent the ball from being kicked when encroachment occurs. In (b) and (c), the
action is legal, as there is no requirement for positioning of R players on their side
of the neutral zone.
Question 4
15.2 SITUATION:
It is first and 10 for A at B's 12-yard line. A1 sprints near the end line and then
buttonhooks. He jumps and possesses a forward pass while in the air above the end
zone.
(a) A1's momentum carries him back into the field of play and he lands and is downed
on the 1-yard line; or(b) while in the air in the end zone, he is contacted by B1 and he
is carried out of the end zone and downed on B's 2-yard line.
Correct Answer
RULING: In (a), it is A's ball first and goal at B's 1-yard line. In (b), it is a touchdown
because A1 was contacted in the end zone. (2-4-1)
Question 5
17.2 SITUATION A:
A1 is legally in motion at the snap: (a) within the free-blocking zone, or (b) outside the
free-blocking zone. In (a), A1 blocks B1 below the waist within the free-blocking zone.
In (b), A1 comes into the free-blocking zone and blocks B1 above the waist and in the
back.
Correct Answer
RULING: It is an illegal block in both (a) and (b). In (a), this is blocking below the
waist and in (b) it is blocking in the back. The offensive blocker must be on the line
of scrimmage at the snap to be able to legally block below the waist. (2-17-3, 9-3-2,
9-3-5 PENALTY)
Page 2 of 12