NFHS Football Rules Practice Test with
correct answers
(Rule |9-4-6 |Penalty) |4/16, |R-30. |With |holder |K11 |and |kicker |K2, |Team |K |is |in |a |legal |scrimmage |kick |
formation. |K11 |takes |the |snap |and |runs |to |the |R20. |R66 |is |flagged |for |roughing |the |snapper. |It |will |be
|K's |ball: |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-1/10, |R-15
(Rule |8-4-3b) |Score |is |Team |R |- |20 |and |Team |K |- |17. |On |the |final |play |of |the |fourth |period, |K14 |kicks |
a |game |tying |field |goal. |R33 |is |flagged |for |roughing |the |holder |K12. |Team |K |may |choose |to |keep |the |
3 |points |and |enforce |the |penalty |in |overtime. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-TRUE
(Rules |7-5-2d, |9-4-3k |and |10-2-1) |1/10, |B-39. |A11 |while |still |in |the |pocket |cannot |find |an |open |
receiver |and |throws |the |ball |from |the |B-48 |toward |the |sideline |and |it |lands |at |the |B-46 |with |no |
receiver |in |the |area. |Just |after |A11 |releases |the |ball, |B55 |tackles |him |by |grabbing |the |back |of |the |
collar |and |pulling |him |immediately |to |the |ground. |There |is |no |effect |on |the |flight |of |the |pass |by |the |
action |of |B55. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-A, |1/10, |B-39
(Rule |7-1-3a) |Team |A |is |in |the |hurry |up |offense |and |snapper |A50 |places |both |hands |on |the |ball. |A7 |
then |calls |the |team |into |a |huddle |and |A50 |removes |his |hands |from |the |ball. |It |is |a |snap |infraction |
foul. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-TRUE
(Rules |7-5-13 |and |10-6) |1/10, |A-40. |A50 |reaches |out |and |is |first |to |touch |A12's |forward |pass |at |the |A-
38. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-2/17 |FROM |THE |A-33
(Rules |3-3-4b(3) |and |7-5-2) |3/G, |B-12. |The |score |is |A |- |20 |and |B |- |24. |With |0:03 |in |the |game, |A7 |
advances |to |the |B-2 |and |is |about |to |be |tackled |when |he |flips |the |ball |forward |to |A84 |who |catches |
the |ball |in |the |end |zone. |Time |expires |during |the |down. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-GAME |OVER
(Rules |2-4-5 |and |9-4-3o) |A |player |on |defense |sticks |out |his |foot |and |trips |the |runner. |That |is |a |legal |
play. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-FALSE
(Rules |2-13-4h |and |8-5-1a) |4/10, |K-40. |K1's |scrimmage |kick |is |muffed |by |R22 |at |the |R-4, |after |which |it
|rolls |into |the |end |zone |where |K4 |secures |possession |in |the |end |zone. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-
TOUCHBACK
(Rule |9-8-1 |only |g, |h |and |k |default |to |the |head |coach) |While |the |ball |is |dead, |an |assistant |coach |is |
flagged |for |coming |out |onto |the |numbers |and |cursing |the |officials |in |a |loud |and |abusive |manner. |This
|is |the |team's |second |unsportsmanlike |conduct |foul |during |the |game |(the |first |unsportsmanlike |foul |
was |committed |by |the |head |coach). |The |head |coach |is |disqualified, |must |leave |the |field |and |remain |
out |of |view |of |the |playing |area |for |the |remainder |of |the |game. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-FALSE
(Rules |2-15-1 |and |6-2-3) |3/15, |K-20. |Team |K |tries |to |quick |kick. |R77 |blocks |the |kick |and |it |has |not |
crossed |the |neutral |zone |when |K22 |picks |up |the |rolling |ball. |K22 |carries |it |to |the |K-30 |where |he |
correct answers
(Rule |9-4-6 |Penalty) |4/16, |R-30. |With |holder |K11 |and |kicker |K2, |Team |K |is |in |a |legal |scrimmage |kick |
formation. |K11 |takes |the |snap |and |runs |to |the |R20. |R66 |is |flagged |for |roughing |the |snapper. |It |will |be
|K's |ball: |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-1/10, |R-15
(Rule |8-4-3b) |Score |is |Team |R |- |20 |and |Team |K |- |17. |On |the |final |play |of |the |fourth |period, |K14 |kicks |
a |game |tying |field |goal. |R33 |is |flagged |for |roughing |the |holder |K12. |Team |K |may |choose |to |keep |the |
3 |points |and |enforce |the |penalty |in |overtime. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-TRUE
(Rules |7-5-2d, |9-4-3k |and |10-2-1) |1/10, |B-39. |A11 |while |still |in |the |pocket |cannot |find |an |open |
receiver |and |throws |the |ball |from |the |B-48 |toward |the |sideline |and |it |lands |at |the |B-46 |with |no |
receiver |in |the |area. |Just |after |A11 |releases |the |ball, |B55 |tackles |him |by |grabbing |the |back |of |the |
collar |and |pulling |him |immediately |to |the |ground. |There |is |no |effect |on |the |flight |of |the |pass |by |the |
action |of |B55. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-A, |1/10, |B-39
(Rule |7-1-3a) |Team |A |is |in |the |hurry |up |offense |and |snapper |A50 |places |both |hands |on |the |ball. |A7 |
then |calls |the |team |into |a |huddle |and |A50 |removes |his |hands |from |the |ball. |It |is |a |snap |infraction |
foul. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-TRUE
(Rules |7-5-13 |and |10-6) |1/10, |A-40. |A50 |reaches |out |and |is |first |to |touch |A12's |forward |pass |at |the |A-
38. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-2/17 |FROM |THE |A-33
(Rules |3-3-4b(3) |and |7-5-2) |3/G, |B-12. |The |score |is |A |- |20 |and |B |- |24. |With |0:03 |in |the |game, |A7 |
advances |to |the |B-2 |and |is |about |to |be |tackled |when |he |flips |the |ball |forward |to |A84 |who |catches |
the |ball |in |the |end |zone. |Time |expires |during |the |down. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-GAME |OVER
(Rules |2-4-5 |and |9-4-3o) |A |player |on |defense |sticks |out |his |foot |and |trips |the |runner. |That |is |a |legal |
play. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-FALSE
(Rules |2-13-4h |and |8-5-1a) |4/10, |K-40. |K1's |scrimmage |kick |is |muffed |by |R22 |at |the |R-4, |after |which |it
|rolls |into |the |end |zone |where |K4 |secures |possession |in |the |end |zone. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-
TOUCHBACK
(Rule |9-8-1 |only |g, |h |and |k |default |to |the |head |coach) |While |the |ball |is |dead, |an |assistant |coach |is |
flagged |for |coming |out |onto |the |numbers |and |cursing |the |officials |in |a |loud |and |abusive |manner. |This
|is |the |team's |second |unsportsmanlike |conduct |foul |during |the |game |(the |first |unsportsmanlike |foul |
was |committed |by |the |head |coach). |The |head |coach |is |disqualified, |must |leave |the |field |and |remain |
out |of |view |of |the |playing |area |for |the |remainder |of |the |game. |- |VERIFIED |ANSWER✔✔-FALSE
(Rules |2-15-1 |and |6-2-3) |3/15, |K-20. |Team |K |tries |to |quick |kick. |R77 |blocks |the |kick |and |it |has |not |
crossed |the |neutral |zone |when |K22 |picks |up |the |rolling |ball. |K22 |carries |it |to |the |K-30 |where |he |